Lyfes Lyrics

My Lyfestyle Through Lyrics

Feel What I Feel Right Now


“I just want to break your heart right back” – Ariana Grande

There’s nothing more unattractive about a man than his insensitivity to a woman’s feelings. Actually… correction… there is something more unattractive: a man who is still inconsiderate of a woman’s feelings KNOWING she’s sensitive.  A much younger me, when a situation like that arose in my life, my immediate thought was “I want you to feel what I feel right now because that’s probably the only way you’d truly understand things from my perspective.” Annoying, right? Yet, I have the tendency to bottle things up because I also don’t like confrontation until I’m provoked a few times in the same manner by the same person. I’m more apt to letting silence speak and humbling myself to a more peaceful state of being. However, there’s that very small percentage of me, that at times, I open up. Is that a good thing? If opening up a shaken bottle of soda pop is a good thing, then… um… yeah. But I digress.

With Ariana Grande‘s new album release, I listened to it completely through. Several songs I loved, but “Break Your Heart Right Now” spoke to my heart. I follow her on Instagram, and she posted a video of her choreographer Nekai Johnson dancing to it, so I was anxious to hear more than just the 15 seconds Instagram allows. In hearing every word, I could completely relate to being head over heels in what I thought was “love”. Expressing to practically the world what I felt; joy. Then someone ripping my heart out or hurting my feelings in such a way that made me want to make them feel what I felt. Over time, I learned that karma is best to let handle that person or that situation while I move on in silence and peace. No one likes to be seen as weak. Suffering in silence can be interpreted as being weak. Blowing a gasket because I want so much for someone to feel what I feel can be seen as a weakness too. We all have our moments of vulnerability. At times, people see vulnerability as a weak characteristic. It’s why many of us try so hard to avoid expressing any emotions or feelings to the one person we so dearly care about or love. The younger me did that with ease because I hadn’t yet experienced much in terms of relationships. Call me naive, inexperienced or ignorant I guess. Now? It’s a bit tougher to bite my tongue. It’s a bit tougher to hold back. Why? I spent a childhood in a culture and household with the philosophy of “speak unless spoken to”. I spent my teen years still living by that philosophy while simultaneously trying to also find my voice as well as  myself. My 20’s were a bit of a blur, but what I do remember is having fun, experimenting with life’s “no no’s”, catching up on music and movies my mother never allowed in a Christian home and learning life lessons about love, lust, dating, “break ups” and parenthood.

Now that I’m in my mid-30’s, I’ve learned quite a bit. The many life lessons I’ve experienced were tough but I wholeheartedly believe in taking away from those kind of life changing experiences a few life lessons. So I thought I’d compile them down to a list of 30 life lessons. If you follow me on twitter, you’ll see that I tweeted each of them out last week. I’ll list the 30 most important things  here for those of you that missed my momentary twitter feed flood. Here we go!

Life Lessons In My 30’s

30: Do what you want because you’re the one who has to live with the consequences of the choices you make.

29: Everyone deserves a 2nd chance, but make sure the 2nd chance you’re giving or being given is genuinely acknowledged and appreciated.

28: Your truest and realest friends are still around in your 30’s.

27: You’re realizing more now that you’re a homebody than you were in your teens and 20’s.

26: A quiet drink alone at a bar isn’t bad after all, even if people perceive you as being lonely. A lot of things are much more enjoyable when you’re alone. Try it, you’ll see.

25: Going to the first matinee of the day by yourself is more enjoyable than a late night movie with someone. (If it’s a scary movie, that’s actually better with someone. What woman doesn’t like to feel safe in a man’s arms?)

24: My patience is a lot better now than when I was younger. Letting go is easier.

23: I have a lot of senior moments… and I’m only in my early 30’s. yikes! I’m okay with that. 🙂

22: Biting my tongue is a daily practice. It’s something I’ve grown accustomed to. When provoked, I get pretty ugly. I’m okay with that too! 😉

21: I’m more carefree and less careless with what I do, say and with whom I’m involved. Life is better!

20: I’m not perfect. Like me for being human not mistake-proof.

19: It’s ok to admit that I don’t know something. I’m not a know-it-all. I have knowledge about many things, but first admitting I know nothing is the first step to beginning to knowing everything.

18: Love isn’t what I once thought it was or would be. It’s not for the faint at heart. Yet, it’ll make even the strongest of people weak to their knees.

17: “Doing Me” becomes not just a state of mind, but of being. Own it!

16: Nix w/the “low tolerance for bullshit” philosophy. These are the years of “NO tolerance for bullshit”!

15: Kill ’em with kindness because it’ll confuse people more. They’ll learn to like you eventually.

14: Tell a person to their face what you’re feeling ’cause social media and through friends as an outlet is childish. (Get rid of “friends “who speak for you. True friends listen, but let you speak on your behalf.)

13: Get used to having a full plate but make sure it’s filled with things you are passionate about. Work never feels like work if it’s fueled by passion.

12: Cutting ties with people who no longer serve a productive purpose in your life is ok.

11. Journaling, blogging and any form of writing is therapeutic. Others can relate to your pain and pleasures. Share. You’ll be surprised by the embrace and comfort you’ll receive.

10: Several things are better left unsaid. Be more sensitive and considerate of what others are going through because everyone’s got a struggle and everyone’s been through a storm.

9: Parenthood is reason enough to catch a case. I’m protective of my son and friends kids.

8: It may be harder to get healthier now than when I was in college, but results happen faster now. Muscle memory is great!

7: The noise from the television really is annoying. Mom was right!

6: A relationship isn’t really a relationship until a friendship is established and acknowledged.

5: Life is complicated, way more than you are willing to admit and show.

4: Complete strangers pay more attention and know more about me than my actual friends and family.

3: Parenthood keeps me going, grounded and grateful.

2: The bigger the battle, the greater the blessing.

and finally…

1: God is still at the center of the foundation of my life and should be with the next man my heart chooses.

What life lessons have you learned in your teens, 20’s, 30’s, 40’s and 50’s that have influenced your life positively today? What life lessons did you learn from mending a broken heart?

Until next post,

XoXoX

Lia aka LyfesLyrics

Break Your Heart Right Back as performed by Ariana Grande ft. Childish Gambino

I should’ve saw it coming
I should’ve saw the signs
But I wanted to believe you, trust you
You said you wouldn’t lie
But baby you were so good, so good
You had me going blind
You said it was your best friend, I’m guessing
I wasn’t your type, hey

What goes around comes around
And if it goes up, it comes down
I know you mad cause I found out
Want you to feel what I feel right now
Now that it’s over

I just wanna break your heart right back, right back
Want you to cry me a river
I just wanna break your heart right back, yeah

All this time I was blind
Running around telling everybody
My baby loves me
My baby loves me
My baby, my baby, my baby loves me

You said I was your best, would be your last
Now he’s gone, you’re alone
Don’t want you back
You’re telling me you’re sorry
Well sorry, my friends
Cause I’ve already been there, done that
Ain’t doing this again, no

What goes around comes around
And if it goes up, it comes down
I know you mad cause I found out
Want you to feel what I feel right now
Now that it’s over

I just wanna break your heart right back, right back
Want you to cry me a river
I just wanna break your heart right back, yeah

All this time I was blind
Running around telling everybody
My baby loves me
My baby loves me
My baby, my baby, my baby loves me
My baby loves me
My baby loves me
My baby, my baby, my baby loves me

Listen, you got a man but your man ain’t loyal
Don’t understand how to spell it out for ya
Yes, I’m a G, from the A, and they ask why
Sorry had to tell you I’m a nice guy
Naw I’m a sick guy, money too much
I step on stage and girls move too much
The flow so gross, my nickname school lunch
And he with them other guys, you know it’s true cause

Ok, G-A-M-B-I-N-O, I know they hate
But I don’t know why, uh
I know the way he did you was whack
But I know how you can get dude right back

Now that it’s over

I just wanna break your heart right back, right back
Want you to cry me a river
I just wanna break your heart right back, yeah

All this time I was blind
Running around telling everybody
My baby loves me
My baby loves me
My baby, my baby, my baby loves me
My baby loves me
My baby loves me
My baby, my baby, my baby loves me

Ooh, yeah, runnin’ around town tell everybody
Ooh, yeah, runnin’ around town tell everybody
Ooh, yeah, runnin’ around town tell everybody
Ooh, yeah, runnin’ around town tell everybody

I’m coming out, he’s coming
I’m coming out

3 comments on “Feel What I Feel Right Now

  1. Sherrie
    October 6, 2014

    Hmmm…in my 20s I got my first real taste of independence and power. I was using my power to pursue all the wrong things, but it was MY choice to make. My 30s have been about alignment with what drives and inspires me. I’m more settled, comfortable in my own skin. I find silence can be golden at times. I don’t need the stimuli I used to seek. A cup of tea and a gentle breeze is an awesome departure these days. LOL

    Like

  2. monicakay
    October 7, 2014

    19, 16, and 10
    I completely relate.

    Like

  3. monicakay
    October 7, 2014

    Oh! You should listen to Tell Him-Lauren Hill

    The lyrics are amazingly deep and relate to 1 Corn 13:1-3

    Like

Leave a Reply

Follow Lyfes Lyrics on WordPress.com

Instagram

Thank you @matisyahu for an amazing show! Incredible vibe and energy! Your sweatshirt.... *sigh* LIT! 💛💚❤️#brokencrownstour #matisyahu #chicago #reggae #irie #instagood #music Love you sis @stefanieannika! So proud of everything you've done and continue to do. You're amazing at what you do for the guys and every other talent you represent! You're such a blessing and light to the industry and I'm excited to see you continue to blossom! 😘💋💓👑 (sidenote: @junyerking congrats on the physique 💪🏾and the #Grammy #nomination🎶🏆) #LaMija #CommonKings #Tour #music #BrokenCrownsTour #chicago #instachi #chitown Congratulations! Ofa lahi atu! @commonkings I love you @stefanieannika! I'm super happy and excited! #commonkings #blessed #grammy #nominee #reggae #celebrate What rock have I been under????? 😍 #protein #barilla #pasta #woohoo #yummy #healthy #food #instafood Me. 💓👑🙏🏾 #wordsiliveby #wordstoliveby #respect #loyalty #humility #me #tongan #culture #life #raised #kyc #knowyourculture #values "Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere." MLK. Do you know about the modern day slave trade happening in Libya right now... 💔 #Libya #slavetrade #stopslavery #mankind #humanrace #freedom Ofa lahi atu kiate koe @dinahjane97 😘 Malo aupito ho'o hiva! 💓 I'm so proud of you and @5thharmony! #MMT #Loyalty #Pride #Tonga #KingdomOfTonga #rugby #rwc2017 I'm okay with being 200lbs. I've been this weight since college (a couple decades ago). But don't get it twisted....I'm gunning for 17% body fat and 96 lbs of muscle mass these next 2-3 months! Thank you Josh and all the coaches at @crossfitkmc for designing some grueling WODs these past few weeks! Thank you @5starnutritionchampaign for carrying @nutraone in your store (especially #mintchocolatechip). Thank you especially to @bburke8332 for introducing me to the world of @CrossFit and being an inspiration!💋 #health #lifestyle #weight #muscle #bodyfat #skeletal #fitness #crossfit #cardio #life #crossfitkmc It's finally up! 🔥🙌🏾😘 #KDYoung #Class1A #discus #shotput #4years #8titles #Champion #ihsa #WLHS #illinois #clickitorticket #buckleup #safety Congratulations @pttheshaq on furthering your academic and athletic career with @siu_trackxc! Just a few months left in your last year at #MtPulaski. Bomb dropping season is going to be FUN!!! #discus #shotput #javelin #hammer #thrower #salukis #siuc #tracknation #fieldnation #trackandfield #thrownation #TaylorFamily #coachathlete Fun in the Fall with the boys. #fall #season #TheGreatPumpkinPatch #Illinois Grinding... entertainment and all. lol #throwers #atn #aretethrowsnation #shotput #discus #aboutlastweekend #winter #november #tracknation #thrownation #trackandfield #blessings

Twitter

