Lyfes Lyrics

My Lyfestyle Through Lyrics

Best Mistake


“There’s no pot of gold in the rainbows we chase but we hold on ” – Ariana Grande

In my adulthood I’ve begun believing that there are no such things as mistakes, just life lessons. If mistakes did exist, I can admit that nearly 20 years ago I made the best mistake of my life. It’s only been since recently that I’ve come to that revelation. From the moment I made that mistake to now I realize that I needed to go through some life experiences. I needed to find what I thought was love in order to recognize the possibilities of what could be true and real love.

I don’t know everything about love. I don’t claim to be an expert, but I know what it’s like to know real unconditional love. I thank God for using my beautiful son as a beacon of real love and light. Other forms of love have also contributed to my recent realization of true love. The way my best friends display their love towards me and especially towards my son are huge indications of unconditional love. Love shown from immediate family members are obvious forms of unconditional and real love. But the one love that escapes many of us is that one true love from a soulmate.

Soulmates come in the form of friends, family and even pets. Finding that specific true love with someone special is quite a feat in and of itself. After a tough break up and even a divorce, the comeback is tough. Many people have shared their break up and even make up stories with me. What I’ve taken away from each of those stories is that there’s hope in the aftermath of an ugly break up. It’s never an easier road to go down, but it’s all worth it in the end because they’ve become more appreciative of their newfound love the second time around. Everyone deserves a second chance because you don’t know true love until you’ve loved the wrong person.

In what ways has a breakup helped you become a better person? How has that breakup taught you to love better and stronger?

Until next post,

Lia aka LyfesLyrics

couple

Best Mistake as performed by Ariana Grande ft. Big Sean

How soon do we forget how we felt?
Dealing with emotions that never left
Playing with the hand that we were dealt in this game…

Maybe I’m the sinner, and you’re the saint
Gotta stop pretending what we ain’t
Why we pointing fingers, anyway?
When we’re the same

Break up
Make up
Total waste of time
Can we please make up our minds
And stop acting like we’re blind?

‘Cause if the water dries up and the moon stops shining
Stars fall, and the world goes blind, boy
You know, I’ll be savin’ my love for you, for you

‘Cause you’re the best mistake I’ve ever made
But we hold on, hold on
There’s no pot of gold in the rainbows we chase
But we hold on, hold on

I guess time’s wasting, tick tocking, lip locking
How can we keep the feelings fresh? How do we zip lock it?
Wear your heart up on your sleeves so watch out for pickpockets
I guess to go the distance we might need to pit stop it
Hold up, I know love could be a beach with no shore
I done count to ten, lost my temper, and went back to four
I know sometimes it’s hard to realize I’m the man that you need
I had a dream we branched out started a family tree
And I feel like that everything we do is overdue
You ask why I love your mom so much ’cause she’s a older you
I wish that you were happy I guess that’s the one thing I should be providing
Ain’t no number twos, we both ones of ones and we the oddest
Couple only humans ‘cept you, you a goddess
Only lying to you when I lie you down, just being honest
When you start as friends it’s hard to say you’re never going back
If I’m not the one then I’m the best mistake you ever had

Break up
Make up
Total waste of time
Can we please make up our minds
And stop acting like we’re blind?

‘Cause if the water dries up and the moon stops shining
Stars fall, and the world goes blind, boy
You know, I’ll be savin’ my love for you, for you

‘Cause you’re the best mistake I’ve ever made
But we hold on, hold on
There’s no pot of gold in the rainbows we chase
But we hold on, hold on

You’re, you’re, you’re, you’re…
Mmm, I’ll be savin’ my love for you, for you
You’re, you’re, you’re, you’re…
Mmm, I’ll be savin’ my love for you, for you

2 comments on “Best Mistake

  1. monicakay
    September 23, 2014

    “I needed to find what I thought was love in order to recognize the possibilities of what could be true and real love” So very true. A poet named Ranier Rilke said “Young people cannot know love yet, they must first learn it with all their fearful beating hearts. They must learn to love.” It takes maturity to learn what love is. From my experience, it took to learning what love is not to learn the beauty of what true love is. It’s the highest of all virtues. As for soul mates, I agree. A soul mate doesn’t have to come as a partner, but also in friendship.

    Like

    • LyfesLyrics
      September 24, 2014

      Love is both, simultaneously, simple and complex. The person who you’re meant to be with should be like the ebb and flow of the ocean against the beach shores; adjusting with ease. I usually don’t re-read my posts after they’re published but this specific post I re-read as a reminder to myself that I’m where I’m at because I’m meant to be here going through what I’m going through.

      Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Follow Lyfes Lyrics on WordPress.com

Instagram

Good morning instapeople! #gm #goodmorning #bnw #bnw_society #bnwphotography #bnwcaptures #bnwmood #bnw_life #throwbackthursday #selfie #moi aaaaaand hello there wide-ass foot placement 😒 #hammer #throw #4turn #lookmanoglove #idontwearaglove #tired #hellafakapikomooni #musclememory #itstoohottobeout #misquitoesareeatingmealive #ohwell #stillanicedaytothrow ⚡️🤙🏾. #javelin #thrower #stillgotit #alittlerustythough #butmyhighbuniscute 😏 #throwernation #thrownation #fieldnation #tracknation #trackandfield #hammerisnext 🙌🏾 GM ♥️. #beautiful #heart #goodmorning #qotd #quote #instaquote 7th grade #IESA #discus and #shotput #champion needed some hydration! Maaaaaan Anjay is a #beast! I can't wait for everyone to see his improvement. Dropping bombs for #state next year is going to be FUN, FUN, FUN! #shotput #discus #throw #thrower #thrownation #fieldnation #tracknation #trackandfield #trackislife #throwforlife One day this little time will be a #thrower. #future #discus #shotput #javelin #hammer #thrownation #fieldnation #tracknation #trackandfield I remember the first time I saw @chagobasso throw. I was sitting next to Scott and all I could say was "f*cking beautiful" lol #shotput #thrower #speed #acceleration #thrownation #fieldnation #tracknation #trackandfield Je t'adore! Tu parle français? hahaha! Have fun in France sis! Miss and love you! @nanafaavesi92 #teamusa #rugby #womensrugby #usa #goals #sports The wind up. The entry. The release. #discus #possiblebooktitle #soundslikeabedtimestory #thatdbeanadorablestorybookforkids #thrower #throwers #throwernation #fieldnation #samoa #samoan #polynesian ...wait for it. ⚡️ #discus #storm #throw #sessionafterthemeet #excusethenonexistentsweep #rhythm #thrownation #fieldnation #tracknation #trackandfield #love #passion #coach Beautiful #throws from an awesome group of #throwers! @chagobasso @23hendershot31 @ithr0wthings #discus #fieldnation #thrownation #tracknation #trackandfield #ThrowersInvite #AOThrowers #summertrack Happy Birthday to the dopest #choreographer #dancer! Your father would be beyond proud of you! Ofa lahi atu! #favorite #dancer #choreographer #HBD #tonga #polynesian #polypride #blessings #snazzy

Twitter

