Lyfes Lyrics

My Lyfestyle Through Lyrics

Silent: What I’m Not Meant To Be



“My dreams are loud and my heart’s wide awake, and all I know is… I’m not meant to be silent.” – Tori Kelly

As a teen, I had no idea what life experiences I’d go through. I had some expectations, but a few things didn’t pan out as I had liked. C’est la vie, right? In my 20’s I learned a lot about myself. I finished school, had my son and even still, a few things I had expected to happen before I turned 30 did not occur. Again, c’est la vie. But now that I’m in my 30’s I’m realizing that I’m at a low tolerance, or no tolerance, for bullshit. The drastic changes I’ve made to get to this point may be considered illogical to those directly effected by my decision(s), but I’m a more joy filled person. No, I’m not going through a mid-life crisis. I’m not pre-menopausal. At least I don’t feel that I am. I’m just more fed up with not being able to be a wholesome me. At this moment, I’m content… but still pushing for a more purpose filled life.

With the current state of music, I’ve not been listening to the radio as much as I used to. I’m sure several of you can relate. Music isn’t what it used to be. I’m finding myself listening to more acoustic and acapella music. Any music with a natural and organic sound is always better. I came across Tori Kelly‘s acoustic version of Silent while browsing through her website on Tumblr. I’ve finally allowed my heart room to grow. By growth, I mean, to act on what my heart feels rather than reacting with my mind. Some life decisions I’ve made since I’ve made that one specific change have brought forth some of my most fondest memories in my life to date. Those special memories that I only share with one other person because those moments I’ll cherish for a lifetime. Yes, those moments actually exist. In an age when social media is used to communicate everything, including special moments that should more than likely be kept between two people, I prefer to keep those memories private. I may generally talk about them, but it’ll never be in great detail. I digress.

There once was a time I’d wake up each day and felt like I could be doing more; that I could be making more of a difference in this world. I got tired of that feeling and felt like changing my trajectory. Taking the leap in a direction that projected me into a realm of the unknown was tough, but I’m realizing now that taking a risk to be a more joyful me simply meant that I’d have to stand up for myself and speak up for myself too. Life has certainly been more enjoyable, fun and spontaneous for me. I love it. Creating new memories is a private bucket-list I’ve got going, but one stipulation I’ve added to each experience is to experience each moment with someone I love and who also hasn’t experienced that moment as well. As Tori Kelly‘s song repeats while I write this blog post, my mind is filled with all those special moments I’ve experienced these past few months. Bicycling along Lakeshore Drive using Divvy , driving across a couple state lines together, taking dance lessons at a local dance studio, walking through a town that I mentioned in happenstance that I’ve wanted to visit and him spontaneously planning half a day there with me, jumping in Lake Michigan at 2 a.m. in the morning fully clothed, spending a complete day inside chillin’, workin’ and umm…. Indeed! Life’s too colorful and beautiful to live it just in black and white. I’m grateful to God for several people who’ve shared special moments with me, but I’m most grateful for a specific person who’s carved out quality time from his busy schedule to enjoy life’s simple pleasures with me. Thank you. “My heart won’t be quiet. I feel a change… My dreams are loud and my heart’s wide awake. All I know is, I’m not meant to be silent.” 

What moments in life are you most grateful to have shared with someone special? How have you changed your trajectory in life for a more happier and fulfilling life?

Until next post,

Lia aka LyfesLyrics

Silent as performed by Tori Kelly

Verse 1:

Wake up in a new day but it don’t feel that new
Same faces around me with the same point of view
Everything is perfect, everything’s ok
Just swallow the lies and let your emotions fade
But my heart won’t be quiet, I feel a change

Hook:
No more black and white
This life’s too colorful, beautiful
Don’t know what lies ahead but

Chorus:
I’m ready now, it’s time (gotta go, gotta get out of this town)
And leave my fear behind (nothing left over here can’t stick around)
My dreams are loud and my heart’s wide awake
And all I know is I’m not meant to be silent

Verse 2:

Wake up to a new voice telling me where to go
It sounds like I got no choice but to keep on this road
Got my own opinion, my own words to say
Got my own visions, so I know I can’t stay
There’s no looking back now, I feel a change

Hook:
No more black and white
This life’s too colorful, beautiful
Don’t know what lies ahead but

Chorus:
I’m ready now, it’s time (gotta go, gotta get out of this town)
And leave my fear behind (nothing left over here can’t stick around)
My dreams are loud and my heart’s wide awake
And all I know is I’m not meant to be silent

Hook:
No more black and white
This life’s too colorful, beautiful
Don’t know what lies ahead but

Chorus:
I’m ready now, it’s time (gotta go, gotta get out of this town)
And leave my fear behind (nothing left over here can’t stick around)
My dreams are loud and my heart’s wide awake
And all I know is I’m not meant to be silent

Im letting go it’s time yeah (gotta go, gotta get out of this town)
And leave my fear behind me (nothing left over here can’t stick around)
Im ready now it’s time yeah(gotta go, gotta get of this town)
And leave my fear behind me (nothing left over here can’t stick around)

My dreams are loud and my heart’s wide awake
And all I know is I’m not meant to be silent

2 comments on “Silent: What I’m Not Meant To Be

  1. Sherrie
    September 27, 2014

    Very authentic blog. I love this, “Life’s too colorful and beautiful to live it just in black and white. “

    Like

    • LyfesLyrics
      September 27, 2014

      Hi Sherrie! Thanks for visiting my blog! I’m catching up with reading your blog posts.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Follow Lyfes Lyrics on WordPress.com

Instagram

Thank you @matisyahu for an amazing show! Incredible vibe and energy! Your sweatshirt.... *sigh* LIT! 💛💚❤️#brokencrownstour #matisyahu #chicago #reggae #irie #instagood #music Love you sis @stefanieannika! So proud of everything you've done and continue to do. You're amazing at what you do for the guys and every other talent you represent! You're such a blessing and light to the industry and I'm excited to see you continue to blossom! 😘💋💓👑 (sidenote: @junyerking congrats on the physique 💪🏾and the #Grammy #nomination🎶🏆) #LaMija #CommonKings #Tour #music #BrokenCrownsTour #chicago #instachi #chitown Congratulations! Ofa lahi atu! @commonkings I love you @stefanieannika! I'm super happy and excited! #commonkings #blessed #grammy #nominee #reggae #celebrate What rock have I been under????? 😍 #protein #barilla #pasta #woohoo #yummy #healthy #food #instafood Me. 💓👑🙏🏾 #wordsiliveby #wordstoliveby #respect #loyalty #humility #me #tongan #culture #life #raised #kyc #knowyourculture #values "Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere." MLK. Do you know about the modern day slave trade happening in Libya right now... 💔 #Libya #slavetrade #stopslavery #mankind #humanrace #freedom Ofa lahi atu kiate koe @dinahjane97 😘 Malo aupito ho'o hiva! 💓 I'm so proud of you and @5thharmony! #MMT #Loyalty #Pride #Tonga #KingdomOfTonga #rugby #rwc2017 I'm okay with being 200lbs. I've been this weight since college (a couple decades ago). But don't get it twisted....I'm gunning for 17% body fat and 96 lbs of muscle mass these next 2-3 months! Thank you Josh and all the coaches at @crossfitkmc for designing some grueling WODs these past few weeks! Thank you @5starnutritionchampaign for carrying @nutraone in your store (especially #mintchocolatechip). Thank you especially to @bburke8332 for introducing me to the world of @CrossFit and being an inspiration!💋 #health #lifestyle #weight #muscle #bodyfat #skeletal #fitness #crossfit #cardio #life #crossfitkmc It's finally up! 🔥🙌🏾😘 #KDYoung #Class1A #discus #shotput #4years #8titles #Champion #ihsa #WLHS #illinois #clickitorticket #buckleup #safety Congratulations @pttheshaq on furthering your academic and athletic career with @siu_trackxc! Just a few months left in your last year at #MtPulaski. Bomb dropping season is going to be FUN!!! #discus #shotput #javelin #hammer #thrower #salukis #siuc #tracknation #fieldnation #trackandfield #thrownation #TaylorFamily #coachathlete Fun in the Fall with the boys. #fall #season #TheGreatPumpkinPatch #Illinois Grinding... entertainment and all. lol #throwers #atn #aretethrowsnation #shotput #discus #aboutlastweekend #winter #november #tracknation #thrownation #trackandfield #blessings

Twitter

