Lyfes Lyrics

My Lyfestyle Through Lyrics

The One That Got Away


There’s always that one person you feel like got away. With me, the few men I’ve dealt with, find me via social networks and have expressed to me that I was “the one that got away”. My reaction? Well, there’s nothing I can do about that now because I’m not the kind of woman that reaches back into my past and rekindles a fire that died as easily as it was for them to let go. For me? That person that “got away” hasn’t been too far from my thoughts ever since college, where we met. Whenever I drive upstate, I pass by the town where he grew up. Here in town, specific buildings on campus remind of him. Campus bars remind me of all the times we hung out with our teammates after the games.

Why him? I can’t put my finger on one specific trait or characteristic, because his mystique back when we first met is still prevalent now. And as my avid readers know, mystique is an attractive trait for me. Captivate my mind, and you’ll capture my heart. That’s a quote I share with people. In this moment, I’m realizing how much he captivates my mind. I don’t know where our reconnection will lead, but I’m taking it a day at a time because I have things I need to resolve in my personal life before I move forward with anyone else or anything else for that matter. The last thing I want to do is hurt someone I truly care about because I didn’t completely shut the door to a previous chapter in my life.

In so many words, I do feel a bit torn apart in the sense that I’m no “spring chicken” and life is too short to let someone get away for the second time. But like I said, I have to finish writing the previous chapter of my life before I can begin writing the next chapter. There’s a bit of discomfort with sharing these specific thoughts because I believe in only sharing innermost thoughts with the people who really know me and care about me. Because I’m scheduling these blog posts weeks in advance, I may have to give him the password to my blog so he can read them in advance before each one comes out. I don’t want him to be surprised by what he’s reading, and having to realize that it’s out there for the world to see now. I know he’s read a couple of my blog entries, but I don’t know how frequently he visits my site. Oh well. Life’s too short to hold it all in, right? C’est la vie!

Has a second chance presented itself in your life? What have you done to ensure that you make the most of your second chance?

Until next post,

Lia

Torn Apart as performed by Snoop Lion f/ Rita Ora

[Verse 1: Rita Ora]
I heard him speak but then a saw his face
I knew we was the one because I dreamt this day
I was such a beginner on this thing called love
And now he’s going away and now I’m torn apart, so torn apart

[Hook:]
You’re one of them, you see me swear
You pullin’ triggers let you slide another day
Say goodbye to the one that got away

[Verse 2: Snoop Lion]
Her lips for the very first thing that I saw
She threw like an angel and that made want some more
My reputation says I’m there from now
And now she’s going away and now I’m so torn apart, so torn apart

[Hook:]
You’re one of them, you see me swear
You pullin’ triggers let you slide another day
Say goodbye to the one that got away

[Verse 3: Snoop Lion]
Never let you give up
But I should’ve let you got away
Got away, got to find another way
Never let ’em get away
Gotta find a way to stay
Never let ’em get away
Never let ’em get away

You never let her go
You never let her go

You see me?
You hear me?
Ye

[Hook:]
You’re one of them, you see me swear
You pullin’ triggers let you slide another day
Say goodbye to the one that got away

Leave a Reply

Follow Lyfes Lyrics on WordPress.com

Instagram

Still grinding. #shotput #hammer #discus #thrower #thowernation #fieldnation #tracknation #trackandfield #atn #aretethrowsnation We grind.... even when the sprinklers come on! πŸ™ŒπŸΎ #hardknocklife #buildscharacter #throwerproblems #thrower #discus #throwernation #rain #sleet #snow #shine #sprinkler @clark_the_shark10 A beautiful day for a technical session. #shotput #hammer #discus #drills #thrower #thrownation #atn #aretethrowsnation Thanks for a wonderful Fresh Expo! @schnuckmarkets #food #foodie #BestInFresh #produce #deli #floral #foodbar #customerservice #division8 #health #healthy #eat #ILoveFood #love #work #Schnucks #FBM707 **singing** 🎡🎢Don't go chasing waterfalls.... stick to the rivers and the lakes that you're used to.... (even if it's just outside @menardshomeimprovement) #entertainment #easilyamused #thingsido #adamnneedstobebuilt #water #nature I don't often post much of my siblings because I'm protective of them... social media isn't always the safest place to share familial ties... but I will say that I truly love watching my sister's #health , #fitness , #family , #church and overall #life #journey posts. Miss and love you! Super proud to see that we're all living a #healthier #lifestyle. Hugs and kisses to the boys and pup! 😘 #love #grind #Blessing #SorryIfRandomPeopleStartCreepingYourPageOrRequestYou lol #Kermit is spazzing out before he officially says his farewell to @sydneyyy.lakeee 😞 Love you babygirl! See you in a few months! 😘😘😘 @pttheshaq will see to it that Kermit is okay. #FloridaBound #New #Home #Growth #ItsNotGoodByeItsSeeYouLater Thank you Mike! @5starnutritionchampaign #nutrition #health #information #body #composition #analysis For the first time @iaaf_athletics has decided to medal #coaches along with their #athletes. πŸ’“ #sports #recognition #hardwork #honor #love #passion #career #thankyou Puttin In Work. Way to go Owen! #discus #shotput #javelin #hammer #thrower #trackandfield Balance. @pttheshaq #play #work #playground The best thing about being in this town is that I don't have to have my #equipment shipped! #GillAthletics #save #thrower #coach #trainer #turbojav #hammer #handle #wire #swivelkit

Twitter

