Lyfes Lyrics

My Lyfestyle Through Lyrics

Act Brand New If You Want To


If there’s one thing that I can’t stand, that absolutely annoys me to no end, that really pisses me off with most people is this:
not giving credit where credit is due and when it’s due too. In all that I’ve done and continue to do, I make sure that the necessary people are mentioned to ensure that the knowledge they passed on to me and that I pass on to others is properly delivered and credited. That’s how I was raised. That’s part of the fabric of my being. Specific teachers, coaches, mentors, friends and family members have had a huge impact on my life and have contributed to the woman I am proud to be today. Good and bad, I’m grateful for it all.

In the past, I’ve said that I don’t regret anything that I’ve done because all those life lessons make me who I am. While that is true for about 99.9% of the things I’ve done, there’s always that 0.1% of minor things that I feel like “if I could do it all over again, I’d do this…”. I mean, everyone has that thought about one or two or even a few things in their lives. One of those things is my tendency to go “MIA” on my family and friends. I’ll literally take a drive somewhere, stay there for a couple or even a few hours, spark up a conversation with a few people, talk about life, break bread at a local restaurant and then head back home. The stresses of life takes such a toll on me and at times I need to regroup, recenter and find peace again. During those times I think about each person who’s impacted my life and how appreciative I am for the wisdom they’ve shared with me when I was a teenager. The mentors that I’ve had in college and have now, help me stay focused on the things that matter most in life. Because, you know, those things that you felt mattered to you as a kid and teenager, change as you get into young adulthood and onto adulthood. Priorities change. Responsibilities change. The people around you change. Therefore, you change. All in all, growth and maturation happens.

Personally, part of the growth and maturation process is realizing and recognizing particular things about yourself and others and acknowledging what’s healthy and not so healthy to have in your life. Self reflection; it’s a daily activity I make sure I conduct. Why? If anyone is going to call me out on something I’ve done or said, I want to know beforehand that I know what it is they’re seeing in me and that there’s good reason as to why I am the way I am. But I also believe that when someone continues to berate or find fault in me, the problem really isn’t in me, but in that person. Now that I’m in my 30’s, I’m more aware of the woman I am and have no qualms about owning up to my weaknesses as well as my strengths. I have no problem admitting to what I can and can not do in any given situation. What frustrates me to no end is witnessing the people I love block their own blessings or refuse to get out of their own way all because they simply won’t take onus for their actions or simplify their lives by cutting out what’s toxic in their lives. That’s about the time I tell a person “quit acting brand new”.

It isn’t so much that a person is “acting brand new”, it’s more so that they’re oblivious to their own behavior; good and bad. When a person doesn’t recognize their own self worth, there’s no way anyone else would recognize or acknowledge that person’s worth either. It’s the same in matters of the heart: first love yourself because only then will you be able to love someone else. I find that to be the reason why I love love, why I love receiving love, but most importantly why I love giving love. I’m a passionate person. I’m a compassionate woman. My motherly instincts always kick in when a person is in need of help. My sisterly instincts kick in when I see a woman needs a shoulder to cry on. My KUNG FU instincts kick in when I see a kid being bullied on the playground. I’m a naturally protective person. Having a kid makes me realize that the attention I give my son, another kid may not be getting. In everything that I do, I credit someone from my past for sharing their life story. I credit someone for why I say the things I say. Hell, in college, it’s required to credit the sources of a term paper in the bibliography and works cited. That requirement I naturally carried on into my every day life. I shouldn’t expect that from everyone else, but I do. It’s a rare behavior to find in anyone these days except for those that have gone to college and see the importance in acknowledging others as do I. Instagram certainly doesn’t help hone that behavior (All of you instagrammers know what I’m talking about. Repostings rarely get credited to the actual origin). Giving credit where credit is due speaks volumes to me when I see it happen with a person. I only wish more people practiced acknowledgement more, but I guess only in the literacy arena does that happen on a regular basis. Either way, what goes around comes around eventually.

Who do you credit for contributing to the person you are today? Who do you credit for the weaknesses and strengths you see in yourself?

Unitl next post,

Lia

“Without Me” as performed by Fantasia f/Kelly Rowland and Missy Elliott

(Fake shit will kill you, boy I know the real you)
(Fake shit will kill you, boy I know the real you)
(Fake shit will kill you, boy I know the real you)
(Fake shit will kill you, boy I know the real you)

[Verse 1: Fantasia]
Really gon’ make me
Expose you for exactly what you are, you are
And I’m feeling a little wavy
So right now I don’t mind pulling your card

(Fake shit will kill you, boy I know the real you)
(Fake shit will kill you, boy I know the real you)

[Pre-chorus: Fantasia (Kelly)]
And as hard as you try
To hide reality, why
We know the truth
(So act brand new if you want to)

[Chorus]
But what would you be without me?
Where would you be without me?
So what you blowing up just a little
They knowing you a little
Don’t give a finger in the middle
Cause little nigga you will never be without me
Where would you be without me?
So what you blowing up just a little
They knowing you a little
Don’t give a finger in the middle
Cause little nigga you will never be

Oh na na, oh na
Oh na na, oh na
Oh na na, oh na
Oh na na, oh na

[Verse 2: Kelly Rowland]
You tell ’em that you make big moves
But tell ’em what you really do
Do you really wanna play this game
(Fake shit will kill you, boy I know the real you)
(Fake shit will kill you, boy I know the real you)
You should tell ’em what you really like
Tell ’em you ain’t bought that life
I’ve put you on, I let you shine
Now you so fly… shit blows my mind
Oh, oh

[Pre-chorus: Fantasia (Kelly)]
And as hard as you try
To hide reality, why
We know the truth
(So act brand new if you want to)

[Chorus]
But what would you be without me?
Where would you be without me?
So what you blowing up just a little
They knowing you a little
Don’t give a finger in the middle
Cause little nigga you will never be without me
Where would you be without me?
So what you blowing up just a little
They knowing you a little
Don’t give a finger in the middle
Cause little nigga you will never be

[Verse 3: Missy Elliot]
Boy you think I’m stupid?
What you think I’m clueless?
You keep chasing them girls
Boy you get the deuces
I’m sick of your excuses
Without me how can you do it?
Do bad about myself
Nigga you’re just useless
Dude I don’t need your sex (your sex)
I’m moving to the next (the next)
You frontin’ man, you stuntin’ man
You’re worser than my ex
Ha-ha-ha-ha-ha
You think that shit funny?
We know the truth boy, keep it one hundred

[Pre-chorus: Fantasia (Kelly)]
And as hard as you try
To hide reality, why
We know the truth
(So act brand new if you want to)

[Chorus]
But what would you be without me?
Where would you be without me?
So what you blowing up just a little
They knowing you a little
Don’t give a finger in the middle
Cause little nigga you will never be without me
Where would you be without me?
So what you blowing up just a little
They knowing you a little
Don’t give a finger in the middle
Cause little nigga you will never be

Leave a Reply

Follow Lyfes Lyrics on WordPress.com

Instagram

Watching Lukas at his flag football game! Great to see the MHS players and coaching staff out there! #community #football #sports #team #sages #monticello Giving it his all. @nate_harman (42-21 in the 4Q). #football #sages #monticello #fridaynight #fridaynightlights #friday #friyay #sports #instasports #atn #aretethrowsnation #multisportathlete #throwernation πŸ’œπŸ’›πŸˆ If you know me, you know that I love #football. Watching @nate_harman killin' it on the field! πŸ’ͺπŸΎπŸ’œ #GoSages #fridaynight #fridaynightlights #football #prepfootball #monticello #sages #everyoneswearingmyfavoritecolor #purple 😏 **BREAKING NEWS** Good weather for my baby boy's birthday party! πŸ™ŒπŸΎ #news #libra #libraseason #libragang #everythinglibra #librasdoitbest #birthday #hbd #party #11 Even if for a few minutes, I'll make sure I see family! I stopped in to see the girls during leisure time. 😘 My babygirl always stays in contact! I've missed them so much! 😘😘😘 #family #love #smile Getting some light work in with the #battleropes before I head to see the girls! I've missed them! 😘😘😘 #CrossFit #unyokedCrossFit #workout #exercise #fitness #instafit #blessed #healthandfitness #healthy #putinwork The hunger and willingness to learn and get faster, stronger and better is always a choice. #grindhard #thegrind #gbb #basketball #sports #quote #GoVikings Thousands of miles apart and somehow we still end up wearing the same outfit on the same day during our sessions πŸ˜˜πŸ’™πŸ‘‘!!! Just ask @pttheshaq @clark_the_shark10 @track_and_golf_4ever lol!!! #atn #aretethrowsnation #blackandyellow #discus #throw #coach #ily #love #passion #killinitinkali #throwfar #tracknation #fieldnation #trackandfield #sport #sports In everything that I do or decide with which to associate myself, I carefully choose because my brand is a promise... I promise to give my all to help you with your journey and life goals.... I'll work tirelessly to ensure that my brand/promise exceeds my own expectations let alone others. I enjoy being around others who live and work by those words. Are you keeping your promise? #friday #fact #words #quotes #wordstoliveby #quotestoliveby #instaquotes #instadaily #life #love #passion #goals #lifestyle #charlierose #JLo #ARod @jlo @arod ...the center of it all... #Jesus #blessed #love #grateful #goodmorning #worship #praise @ihoughton πŸ™ŒπŸΎπŸ’“ I've passed by this sign several times but haven't ever stopped to take a picture of it. She's finally with @gamecockthrows. I'm excited to hear about her first few weeks of school and her first few college workouts. I'm missing her heaps but I know how important a college education and continuing her athletic career is. Congratulations sweetheart! #8xStateChampion #discus #shotput #GoGamecocks #USC #GamecocksNation #atn #aretethrowsnation #blessing #KDYoung With or without an implement, there's always drillwork to be done! #HeTriedIt #NotThisCoach #shotput #drills #footwork #shadowwork #work #hardwork #aretethrowsnation #atn

Twitter

