Lyfes Lyrics

My Lyfestyle Through Lyrics

Use Somebody


I can count on one hand the true friends that I have in my life. Not anytime soon will I be expanding that list. That list was closed late 2011. I have trust issues and for the most part it’s because of the stupidity of others and their actions, but on the flip side of things, I blame myself. I blame myself for allowing such nonsense in my life. I am, however, grateful for my true friends. I know I’ll never find another real friend like the five that I already have because real friends are rare friends. But even my friends are busy, and at times when I’ve needed them, they aren’t readily available. Life happens.

It’s in those moments when I hop in my car and take a long drive or jump out the window and sit on the roof to watch the clouds roll by or wait for the sunset to occur. Okay, so I don’t literally “jump out the window”. I carefully step outside onto the rooftop from my home office. It’s quite relaxing “rooftop chillin'”, in fact. That’s what I call it. It’s in those moments where I’m literally telling myself “I could use somebody”. There are times that it hurts that not at least one person is available just to hear me out or to listen to me vent. It’s also in those moments that I realize that I can’t depend on others as much as I do. Not that I depend on them to live my life, but more so that I depend on them the way they depend on me when they need someone in whom to talk. I get mad. I get frustrated. There are even times, for a split second, where I think “don’t call me next time you need to talk because I’m tired of being there for everyone else and no one else seems to ever ask me if I’m okay.” But… when they are in a time of need, there I am with immediate attention on them.

Everyone can use someone, it’s just that not everyone is available at a moment’s notice when I need them most. I’m a bit apprehensive about even expressing all of this publicly because anytime I put this kind of energy out there, like a rushing tide onto the sandy shores of a beach, people come to me all at once with needing someone to talk to. I never want to feel ungrateful, disingenuous or selfish, but is it wrong to feel like reciprocity is needed in any friendship and relationship? Is it wrong to feel like it’s unfair that I’m expected to do so much but I don’t get the same in return? What I give in life, I get in return. I truly believe that statement, but there are some situations in my life where I feel like I’m giving so much of myself and I’m getting entirely a minimal amount back. There are other situations where I feel like I’m barely giving anything and I’m getting a plethora of blessings back. I guess there’s just one pool of giving and another pool for receiving and reciprocity only exists from those two pools alone. What goes in, comes out. I give of myself in one aspect and it comes back to me in another way. It may not come back to me how I expect or prefer it, but it comes back to me, good or bad. Who knows? I feel like I’ve talked myself in a circle and suddenly it all makes sense. Yet, I still feel things are unfair with some situations with which I’m going through. Needless to say, everyone can use somebody.

Who, in your life, is the person you confide in and why? Should reciprocity be expected with some things and not other things in a relationship?

Until next post,

Lia

Use Somebody originally performed by Kings of Leon

I’ve been roaming around,
always looking down and all I see
Painted faces fill the places I can’t reach
You know that I could use somebody
You know that I could use somebody

Someone like you
and all you know and how you speak
Countless lovers
undercover of the street

You know that I could use somebody
You know that I could use somebody
Someone like you

Off in the night while you live it up,
I’m off to sleep
Waging wars to shake the poet and the beat

I hope it’s gonna make you notice
I hope it’s gonna make you notice

Someone like me
Someone like me
Someone like me, somebody

Go and let it out

Someone like you, somebody
Someone like you, somebody
Someone like you, somebody

I’ve been roaming around,
always looking down and all I see

Leave a Reply

Follow Lyfes Lyrics on WordPress.com

Instagram

Good morning instapeople! #gm #goodmorning #bnw #bnw_society #bnwphotography #bnwcaptures #bnwmood #bnw_life #throwbackthursday #selfie #moi aaaaaand hello there wide-ass foot placement 😒 #hammer #throw #4turn #lookmanoglove #idontwearaglove #tired #hellafakapikomooni #musclememory #itstoohottobeout #misquitoesareeatingmealive #ohwell #stillanicedaytothrow ⚡️🤙🏾. #javelin #thrower #stillgotit #alittlerustythough #butmyhighbuniscute 😏 #throwernation #thrownation #fieldnation #tracknation #trackandfield #hammerisnext 🙌🏾 GM ♥️. #beautiful #heart #goodmorning #qotd #quote #instaquote 7th grade #IESA #discus and #shotput #champion needed some hydration! Maaaaaan Anjay is a #beast! I can't wait for everyone to see his improvement. Dropping bombs for #state next year is going to be FUN, FUN, FUN! #shotput #discus #throw #thrower #thrownation #fieldnation #tracknation #trackandfield #trackislife #throwforlife One day this little time will be a #thrower. #future #discus #shotput #javelin #hammer #thrownation #fieldnation #tracknation #trackandfield I remember the first time I saw @chagobasso throw. I was sitting next to Scott and all I could say was "f*cking beautiful" lol #shotput #thrower #speed #acceleration #thrownation #fieldnation #tracknation #trackandfield Je t'adore! Tu parle français? hahaha! Have fun in France sis! Miss and love you! @nanafaavesi92 #teamusa #rugby #womensrugby #usa #goals #sports The wind up. The entry. The release. #discus #possiblebooktitle #soundslikeabedtimestory #thatdbeanadorablestorybookforkids #thrower #throwers #throwernation #fieldnation #samoa #samoan #polynesian ...wait for it. ⚡️ #discus #storm #throw #sessionafterthemeet #excusethenonexistentsweep #rhythm #thrownation #fieldnation #tracknation #trackandfield #love #passion #coach Beautiful #throws from an awesome group of #throwers! @chagobasso @23hendershot31 @ithr0wthings #discus #fieldnation #thrownation #tracknation #trackandfield #ThrowersInvite #AOThrowers #summertrack Happy Birthday to the dopest #choreographer #dancer! Your father would be beyond proud of you! Ofa lahi atu! #favorite #dancer #choreographer #HBD #tonga #polynesian #polypride #blessings #snazzy

Twitter

