Lyfes Lyrics

My Lyfestyle Through Lyrics

Speical Delivery


I’m not usually one to be at a loss of words, but that doesn’t mean I don’t have those moments at all. I’m also not one to usually share my innermost thoughts with just anyone, particularly the world. So me writing this post is a small window into my thoughts and emotions on an experience that has consumed my life. I share what I share not only for personal therapy, but more so for those going through what I’ve been through or are currently going through what I’ve been through. I pray and hope anyone reading this hears me. I pray and hope that anyone reading this knows that you’re not alone.

When I first heard Bridget Kelly‘s song a few months ago, when it first came out, I was taking a long drive out of town. I often do that just to gather my thoughts. It helps… sometimes. But on this particular day, the long drive wasn’t helping because what I wanted to express would only backfire. That’s at least what I felt. I had finally let down the wall I had put up because of all the hurt I experienced. For another chance at love, at trust and at a happiness, I let my guard down. That’s the risk most of us take when it comes to love, right? That’s also the risk most of us struggle to ever forgive ourselves for taking.

But hearing “Special Delivery” brought a moment of clarity to the many thoughts that had been clouding my mind for quite some time. I had gotten away from blogging about my thoughts and experiences. I had gotten away from what was my therapy for so many years. Why? I entrusted someone I hold near and dear to my heart with my innermost thoughts, which then eventually led to my bout with writers block. I had allowed an outside influence effect my thoughts, which led to effecting my writing, which then effected my mood and emotions. Like usual, I had taken on some projects to help others with their work and their dreams and I lost a bit of myself in the process.

Every lyric sung in “Special Delivery” is relatable to what I’ve been through and even what I am currently going through. I don’t often listen to the radio, but when I do, this song seems to come on every time. Coincidence or not, I see small things like this as a sign. Not a day goes by where I don’t ask myself, “What the hell are you doing?” or “Will you wake up already?” or “Am I crazy?”. I’m human. I’m flawed. But at this point, and at this age, I really don’t care what others think about what it is I do and say. I maintain my tact, respect, dignity and integrity, but when it comes to what others think of how I love, whom I love and why I love… I really couldn’t give two fucks. This is the moment where I gesture with a “thug shrug” and keep it moving.

This specific post is me taking control back of what I let so easily get away from me: my creativity as it relates to writing. That’s not to say that I wasn’t being creative the time I spent away from sharing my life experiences through lyrics, songs and music. What I am saying is that I recognize what happened. I realize, now, what I need to do to get back to what’s most important to me. I am now making the effort to send my “Special Delivery”. For me, it’s not so important to whom I’m sending my special delivery, but more so that I’m putting it out there into the universe because ultimately, God will see me through what it is I’m going through. He brought me through this situation and I know He’ll see me through it as well.

In what ways do you cope with dealing with being hurt in a relationship? How have you handled interacting with someone who could potentially be your Mr. Right?

Until next post,
Lia

Special Delivery performed by Bridget Kelly

Wrote him goodbye letter today
With conviction in every stroke
Licked the envelope and sent it away
Wanted to do it the old fashioned way
Didn’t want no text or tweeting
Wanted him to feel every word that I say

Boy I hope these tears I cry
On the paper don’t dry
Before it make it to your side
I want you to know what it feels like
When your heart is done I’m so tired
I hope when he reads these words
This hurt I feel bleeds through
Before the ink dry
I want you to know what it feels like
When your heart is done
I’m so tired

So I need you to
Hurry hurry please mr. mailman
Overnight it if you can
I need you to feel me,feel me
This is a special delivery
Hurry hurry now before I take it back
Before he cleans up his act
I need you to feel me, feel me
This is a special delivery
Got me saying ohhh, special delivery
This is a special delivery

Funny how words take a life on their own
When you said you love me
That’s what I believed
But I was so wrong baby
Boy in your arms I never felt more alone
But now that I got me back
Got my heart on track
I’m moving on

Boy I hope these tears I cry
On the paper don’t dry
Before it make it to your side
I want you to know what it feels like
When your heart is done I’m so tired
I hope when he reads these words
This hurt I feel bleeds through
Before the ink dry
I want you to know what it feels like
When your heart is done
I’m so tired

So I need you to
Hurry hurry please mr. mailman
Overnight it if you can
I need you to feel me,feel me
This is a special delivery
Hurry hurry now before I take it back
Before he cleans up his act
I need you to feel me, feel me
This is a special delivery
Got me saying ohhh, special delivery
This is a special delivery

Leave a Reply

Follow Lyfes Lyrics on WordPress.com

Instagram

Good morning instapeople! #gm #goodmorning #bnw #bnw_society #bnwphotography #bnwcaptures #bnwmood #bnw_life #throwbackthursday #selfie #moi aaaaaand hello there wide-ass foot placement 😒 #hammer #throw #4turn #lookmanoglove #idontwearaglove #tired #hellafakapikomooni #musclememory #itstoohottobeout #misquitoesareeatingmealive #ohwell #stillanicedaytothrow ⚡️🤙🏾. #javelin #thrower #stillgotit #alittlerustythough #butmyhighbuniscute 😏 #throwernation #thrownation #fieldnation #tracknation #trackandfield #hammerisnext 🙌🏾 GM ♥️. #beautiful #heart #goodmorning #qotd #quote #instaquote 7th grade #IESA #discus and #shotput #champion needed some hydration! Maaaaaan Anjay is a #beast! I can't wait for everyone to see his improvement. Dropping bombs for #state next year is going to be FUN, FUN, FUN! #shotput #discus #throw #thrower #thrownation #fieldnation #tracknation #trackandfield #trackislife #throwforlife One day this little time will be a #thrower. #future #discus #shotput #javelin #hammer #thrownation #fieldnation #tracknation #trackandfield I remember the first time I saw @chagobasso throw. I was sitting next to Scott and all I could say was "f*cking beautiful" lol #shotput #thrower #speed #acceleration #thrownation #fieldnation #tracknation #trackandfield Je t'adore! Tu parle français? hahaha! Have fun in France sis! Miss and love you! @nanafaavesi92 #teamusa #rugby #womensrugby #usa #goals #sports The wind up. The entry. The release. #discus #possiblebooktitle #soundslikeabedtimestory #thatdbeanadorablestorybookforkids #thrower #throwers #throwernation #fieldnation #samoa #samoan #polynesian ...wait for it. ⚡️ #discus #storm #throw #sessionafterthemeet #excusethenonexistentsweep #rhythm #thrownation #fieldnation #tracknation #trackandfield #love #passion #coach Beautiful #throws from an awesome group of #throwers! @chagobasso @23hendershot31 @ithr0wthings #discus #fieldnation #thrownation #tracknation #trackandfield #ThrowersInvite #AOThrowers #summertrack Happy Birthday to the dopest #choreographer #dancer! Your father would be beyond proud of you! Ofa lahi atu! #favorite #dancer #choreographer #HBD #tonga #polynesian #polypride #blessings #snazzy

Twitter

