Lyfes Lyrics

My Lyfestyle Through Lyrics

Marvin’s Room


In the last few months I’ve taken a break from speaking my mind on music and lyrics. Other things and other people had and have been inspiring me in other ways. And as most of you noticed, poetry is what I’ve been writing these past couple of weeks.

Nonetheless, I’ve been meaning to get back to writing about music and how I can relate to lyrics. Today, I figured I’d write on Marvin’s Room and the raw emotion felt with every remix I’ve come across. Ever since Drake released Marvin’s Room, I’ve been seeing so many remixes and covers done by so many people, even A-List artists have put their own spin on the song.

Why?

One word; Loaded question.

Heartache.

One word; Loaded answer.

Most of us have felt heartache, and even more so, heartbreak. Listening intently and carefully to the lyrics of all Marvin’s Room remixes, I can feel in the lyrics and voices of each singer, EXACTLY what they’re feeling. I’ve been there. I’m going through that. It’s an all too familiar emotion that many of us try to avoid because of a previous break up. But still… we believe enough in love to give it another chance.

I struggle to open up to anyone who tries to get to know me, especially in matters of love. I’ve recently done so, and now… well… now… for many reasons, I feel myself shutting down again. As hard as I try to maintain my strength, we all know that opening an old wound only makes us cringe and shut down. I’m human. So sue me.

As easily as all this is to write about, it’s not as easy sharing these emotions with the one my heart has chosen to love. He’s busy, so he says. Personally, people make time for what they want to make time for. I find spots in my day to make quick videos when I’m thinking of someone, so I can send them later. I feel like I’m the only person who does this. Am I? Someone please tell me I’m not.

I feel like reciprocity is dead. Most people would say that love is dead. I don’t believe that, but all these versions of Marvin’s Room let me know that somewhere, someone is feeling the same way I am. Misery loves company I guess, but I just wish THAT someone, somewhere, was the one my heart chose. *shrugs* Like always, I bottle things up.

It isn’t so comforting listening to Paula DeAnda and JoJo’s version of Marvin’s room, but it sure is fucking relatable. Lord knows I can relate to both!

Anyways, I feel like I’m rambling now. In any case… I felt like writing out a few thoughts and sharing them with all of you. Not that any of you really care, but I just needed to vent before this busy week and weekend begin. Have a blessed Fourth of July.

Until next post,

Lia

XoXoX

2 comments on “Marvin’s Room

  1. Teinetoa4lyphe
    July 12, 2012

    I care and can relate. I need to get back to blogging. You continue to inspire me and I thank you for that sis.

    Like

  2. hiswifey
    August 9, 2012

    A person can always make time for somebody they care about… Even if it’s just 2 seconds to send a “thinking of you, how’s your day” type if text. Chin up Lia, you deserve someone who gives the same amount of effort (if not more) than you give to him.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Follow Lyfes Lyrics on WordPress.com

Instagram

Watching Lukas at his flag football game! Great to see the MHS players and coaching staff out there! #community #football #sports #team #sages #monticello Giving it his all. @nate_harman (42-21 in the 4Q). #football #sages #monticello #fridaynight #fridaynightlights #friday #friyay #sports #instasports #atn #aretethrowsnation #multisportathlete #throwernation πŸ’œπŸ’›πŸˆ If you know me, you know that I love #football. Watching @nate_harman killin' it on the field! πŸ’ͺπŸΎπŸ’œ #GoSages #fridaynight #fridaynightlights #football #prepfootball #monticello #sages #everyoneswearingmyfavoritecolor #purple 😏 **BREAKING NEWS** Good weather for my baby boy's birthday party! πŸ™ŒπŸΎ #news #libra #libraseason #libragang #everythinglibra #librasdoitbest #birthday #hbd #party #11 Even if for a few minutes, I'll make sure I see family! I stopped in to see the girls during leisure time. 😘 My babygirl always stays in contact! I've missed them so much! 😘😘😘 #family #love #smile Getting some light work in with the #battleropes before I head to see the girls! I've missed them! 😘😘😘 #CrossFit #unyokedCrossFit #workout #exercise #fitness #instafit #blessed #healthandfitness #healthy #putinwork The hunger and willingness to learn and get faster, stronger and better is always a choice. #grindhard #thegrind #gbb #basketball #sports #quote #GoVikings Thousands of miles apart and somehow we still end up wearing the same outfit on the same day during our sessions πŸ˜˜πŸ’™πŸ‘‘!!! Just ask @pttheshaq @clark_the_shark10 @track_and_golf_4ever lol!!! #atn #aretethrowsnation #blackandyellow #discus #throw #coach #ily #love #passion #killinitinkali #throwfar #tracknation #fieldnation #trackandfield #sport #sports In everything that I do or decide with which to associate myself, I carefully choose because my brand is a promise... I promise to give my all to help you with your journey and life goals.... I'll work tirelessly to ensure that my brand/promise exceeds my own expectations let alone others. I enjoy being around others who live and work by those words. Are you keeping your promise? #friday #fact #words #quotes #wordstoliveby #quotestoliveby #instaquotes #instadaily #life #love #passion #goals #lifestyle #charlierose #JLo #ARod @jlo @arod ...the center of it all... #Jesus #blessed #love #grateful #goodmorning #worship #praise @ihoughton πŸ™ŒπŸΎπŸ’“ I've passed by this sign several times but haven't ever stopped to take a picture of it. She's finally with @gamecockthrows. I'm excited to hear about her first few weeks of school and her first few college workouts. I'm missing her heaps but I know how important a college education and continuing her athletic career is. Congratulations sweetheart! #8xStateChampion #discus #shotput #GoGamecocks #USC #GamecocksNation #atn #aretethrowsnation #blessing #KDYoung With or without an implement, there's always drillwork to be done! #HeTriedIt #NotThisCoach #shotput #drills #footwork #shadowwork #work #hardwork #aretethrowsnation #atn

Twitter

