Lyfes Lyrics

My Lyfestyle Through Lyrics

Never Make A Promise


I’m a HUGE fan of 90’s R&B music. I especially love the R&B groups that were popular during that decade. Dru Hill is definitely one of those groups. The melodies and harmonies, you don’t find those kind of songs and groups these days. I was missing my honey, what else is new, so I was anxiously awaiting when he finally awoke. He said he’d call when he woke up first thing in the morning before church.

Well, it’s the afternoon and when I tried to call him he didn’t pick up. However, I did get a text saying he was in church. Uh, really? I hate when people say they’re going to do something and they don’t follow through. In this case, it was something minute, but still. It’s the principle. By the time he reads this blog, if he even reads my blogs at all, I’ll be over it. That’s the great thing about scheduling blogs far in advance because when I read this again when it comes out I’ll just think of myself as a drama queen. To keep myself from being anymore disappointed, I came across this Dru Hill song. It totally reminds me of him. And just like that, I’m no longer annoyed with him. Funny what music can do to people emotionally.

Instead of focusing on the small fact that he didn’t call me first thing in the morning, or even text me for that matter, I decided to think about all the wonderful things he’s done for me up to this point. For instance, neither one of us can sleep if we haven’t heard from the other before bedtime. No matter how short the conversation is, we make it a point to call each other just before bedtime so that we both have some sort of peace of mind. With his crazy work schedule, I try to keep the conversation short because his work schedule requires him to get up at the ass crack of dawn, but that’s EXTREMELY hard for me to do when his voice alone sends chills down my spine. His giggle and laughter make me lose my breath.

There are a lot of things I absolutely adore about him, but the three things that stand out about him are: a) work ethic, b) responsibility and c) eclectic taste in music. The combination of those three things speaks volumes to me. I thought that I pay attention to the littlest things, but I’ve learned that he’s more attentative than I am. He can sense in my voice, over the phone, when something is bothering me. I’ve only known him for a few weeks and I feel as if I’ve known him all my life. This journey of life puzzles me, but I’m grateful for the people that come into my life. I’m especially grateful for the love and affection that my love shows me. There are days when I sigh a breath of relief because I finally feel like someone is loving me just as I am loving him. Reciprocity is important to me. I give so much of myself and at times I just throw my hands in the air and give up. I’m no spring chicken, you know? I don’t like wasting time if I feel like I’m being taken advantage of and if I feel like I’m giving more of myself and not getting back in return what I know I deserve.

Today I’m just grateful. I’m grateful for the love in my life and the love he shows me. I’m learning to not sweat the small stuff so much because even I have broken my word or promise to him. For example, just before we end our daily bedtime call he makes sure I promise to go to bed at a decent hour. As many times as I make that promise, I never go to bed when I tell him I’m going to bed. I’m always up listening to music, blogging or on Path with my pathenians. I’m more relieved that he now gets more sleep, even though I’m losing more sleep. We joke around about how since we’ve met he sleeps better and I lost all sense of what the word sleep means and is. Oh well, I’ll sleep when I die.

What is it about your love that drives you crazy, but you’re overlook because of all the wonderful things he/she does? What are you willing to compromise in a relationship to make things work better for the one you love?

Until next post,

XoXoX

Lia

Never Make A Promise as performed by Dru Hill

I don’t have to think about it
I never been in love
Well I only dreamed about it
i wondered where u was
but now I think I know it’s clear to me
You’ve made me understand
I’m so proud to say i love u
I’m so proud to be ur man (yes i am)
I promise I’ll never hurt u
I’ll never make you cry
I promise I’ll never hit you
Cross my heart and hope to die
cause I know I’ll keep you safe, I’ll keep you warm
I’ll keep you satisfied
and I’ll be your sunshine in the morning
Be your everything at night

[Chorus:]
You told me what you wanted
I gave you what you need
I told u that I love you make it good for you and me
and I never make a promise that I can’t keep, that ain’t me x2

Ain’t no way to get around it
now you stuck with me (baby baby)
Did you know that u’d be surrounded
By my love and ecstacy
This is the start of one great love affair
That never, never, never gonna end
We can share the world together
oh this is where it begins

[chorus] x2

oh ho
Girl I’ll stand by you, if u give me your hand
I’ll make love to you baby, Your every wish is my command
Let play out your fantasies, I’ll make you u lose your mind
Take you places you ain’t ever been before, I promise you in time

2 comments on “Never Make A Promise

  1. Ana βœ”
    March 5, 2012

    Five Steps is my fave Dru Hill tune… love the post! Definitely miss 90s music – not the same these days πŸ™‚

    Like

    • LyfesLyfe
      March 5, 2012

      Thank you Ana for taking the time to read and comment. I definitely miss 90’s music and you’re right, music isn’t the same these days. Thanks again! Please come back when you have the time.

      Lia

      Like

Leave a Reply

Follow Lyfes Lyrics on WordPress.com

Instagram

Watching Lukas at his flag football game! Great to see the MHS players and coaching staff out there! #community #football #sports #team #sages #monticello Giving it his all. @nate_harman (42-21 in the 4Q). #football #sages #monticello #fridaynight #fridaynightlights #friday #friyay #sports #instasports #atn #aretethrowsnation #multisportathlete #throwernation πŸ’œπŸ’›πŸˆ If you know me, you know that I love #football. Watching @nate_harman killin' it on the field! πŸ’ͺπŸΎπŸ’œ #GoSages #fridaynight #fridaynightlights #football #prepfootball #monticello #sages #everyoneswearingmyfavoritecolor #purple 😏 **BREAKING NEWS** Good weather for my baby boy's birthday party! πŸ™ŒπŸΎ #news #libra #libraseason #libragang #everythinglibra #librasdoitbest #birthday #hbd #party #11 Even if for a few minutes, I'll make sure I see family! I stopped in to see the girls during leisure time. 😘 My babygirl always stays in contact! I've missed them so much! 😘😘😘 #family #love #smile Getting some light work in with the #battleropes before I head to see the girls! I've missed them! 😘😘😘 #CrossFit #unyokedCrossFit #workout #exercise #fitness #instafit #blessed #healthandfitness #healthy #putinwork The hunger and willingness to learn and get faster, stronger and better is always a choice. #grindhard #thegrind #gbb #basketball #sports #quote #GoVikings Thousands of miles apart and somehow we still end up wearing the same outfit on the same day during our sessions πŸ˜˜πŸ’™πŸ‘‘!!! Just ask @pttheshaq @clark_the_shark10 @track_and_golf_4ever lol!!! #atn #aretethrowsnation #blackandyellow #discus #throw #coach #ily #love #passion #killinitinkali #throwfar #tracknation #fieldnation #trackandfield #sport #sports In everything that I do or decide with which to associate myself, I carefully choose because my brand is a promise... I promise to give my all to help you with your journey and life goals.... I'll work tirelessly to ensure that my brand/promise exceeds my own expectations let alone others. I enjoy being around others who live and work by those words. Are you keeping your promise? #friday #fact #words #quotes #wordstoliveby #quotestoliveby #instaquotes #instadaily #life #love #passion #goals #lifestyle #charlierose #JLo #ARod @jlo @arod ...the center of it all... #Jesus #blessed #love #grateful #goodmorning #worship #praise @ihoughton πŸ™ŒπŸΎπŸ’“ I've passed by this sign several times but haven't ever stopped to take a picture of it. She's finally with @gamecockthrows. I'm excited to hear about her first few weeks of school and her first few college workouts. I'm missing her heaps but I know how important a college education and continuing her athletic career is. Congratulations sweetheart! #8xStateChampion #discus #shotput #GoGamecocks #USC #GamecocksNation #atn #aretethrowsnation #blessing #KDYoung With or without an implement, there's always drillwork to be done! #HeTriedIt #NotThisCoach #shotput #drills #footwork #shadowwork #work #hardwork #aretethrowsnation #atn

Twitter

