Lyfes Lyrics

My Lyfestyle Through Lyrics

Love Makes Things Happen


[#ipodonrepeat Love Makes Things Happen – Babyface f/Pebbles]

The other day I heard this song and have had it on repeat since. Why? Well, I’m learning that as I get older, I’m not being as picky with who I give a chance to date me. That’s not to say that I have no standards. Of course I still have standards, but like this song states “you never know where it’s coming from, you never know who you’re gonna love…”. How do I know who I want to give a chance and who I’ll not give a chance? I’m not going to pretend like I know what to do. I just know that there’s a bit of a vibe I get when there’s someone I find interesting finds me just as interesting, if not more.

These days, I’m being more careful with who I let near my heart and my innermost feelings because in my past relationship, I’m the kind of woman who puts in more effort into a relationship. I’ve begun to realize that a man that doesn’t put in as much effort and thought as I do, doesn’t deserve me or my love. About the only man that is deserving of my love these days is my son.

I took a moment to blast this through the house as well as take the time to dance with my son. We do that often. As I was dancing, my son asked me “Love is a carousel? Why does it spin around?” This kid. He’s obviously too young to fully comprehend the complex concept of love. So I used his stuffed animals as an example. I told him that he loves all his little babies, but the one he carries around with him everywhere, buckles up in the car, sits in the shopping cart securely fastened in the baby seat, swings with at the playground and sleeps with every night is his stuffed teddy bear. He paused for a minute. Then he looked at his bear on the couch who was watching television, by the way, looked at me as I smiled at him. He then ran and grabbed his bear and gave his bear a huge hug, picked him up and started dancing with him. I continued dancing with them, but was amazed with how my son’s comprehension of what I explained to him took less time than what some grown folks have been puzzled about for years or are still puzzled about to this day.

For now, that was really all I needed to explain to my son because everyone that’s not a child knows how confusing love can be and the things people would do for love. I don’t have the answers to everything about love. I only know from experience what love has done to me and for me. In my opinion, it’s the single most craziest thing that exists. Yet, it is also the one thing people can’t live without. I’m appreciative that it is in my life and that the ones that truly love me, show me.

Where has love caught you off guard? What lessons have you learned from losing or gaining love?

Until next post,

XoXoX

Lia

“Love Makes Things Happen”

Deep in the heart
Love has many ways
Of touching your emotions
Taking control of you
And even in thought
Love can make you change
There’s no way of controlling love
When it’s part of you

Well you could be a married man
With two kids and a good woman
And you could give your heart and soul
I swear it don’t mean nothin’
‘Cause love can pull you deep into a spell
It will spin your mind around like a carousel

I’m telling you love
Boy makes things happen
You never know where it’s coming from
You never know who you’re gonna love
I’m telling you love makes things happen
You never know what you’re gonna do
When ever true love takes hold of you

There’s never a time
‘Cause love will let you know
Love appears at the worst and even the best of times
Takes over your mind
Your heart is not your own
There’s no way of controlling love
It controls your life

Well you could be a faithful girl
With a good heart and good intentions
And you could never leave your home
I swear there ain’t no preventions
‘Cause love can pull you deep into a spell
It will spin your mind around like a carousel

[HOOK]

There’s nothing love can’t make you do
When love takes hold of you
You can have the purest heart
And the finest attitude
But I swear that don’t mean nothin’
When your heart’s under the spell
It will spin your mind around like a carousel

I’m telling you love
Makes things happen
You never know where it’s coming from
You never know who you’re gonna love
I’m telling you love makes things happen
You never know what you’re gonna do
When ever true love takes hold of you

You never know
You never know it
You never know
You’re never gonna know it
Who you’re gonna love
Who you’re gonna love – baby

You never know
You never know it
You never know
You’re never gonna know it
Who you’re gonna know – it

You never know
You never know it
You never know
You never, never, never, never, never know
No, no, no, no
You never know

You never know
You never know it
You never know
You never, never, never, never, never know
No, no, no, no
You never know

You never know
You never know it
You never know
You never, never, never, never, never know
No, no, no, no
You never know

2 comments on “Love Makes Things Happen

  1. Kashif Ross
    January 28, 2012

    I think people want love to be easily defined because it’s supposedly been around for years, but they don’t understand that romantic love is a new phenomenon. In the past, people married for financial benefits and fell into a more dutiful love. There’s nothing wrong with that type of love, but our society now places an emphasis on being swept off feet and falling head over heels.

    I’m in love with a very special person, but after being engaged for two years, I noticed my romantic love shift to a more dutiful one. I’ve enjoyed both forms and I can’t say which one I prefer, but I know we couldn’t survive on romance. Most of the things that made me fall in love with her have changed as she’s evolved into a different person. With life experiences we’ve both changed and I’ve had to let go of the things that I once was picky about.

    I love who she’s become because that’s my responsibility as a husband, but in all honesty, I wouldn’t have married her if she were this person three years ago. We met at the right time, in the right place, and are still in love for the right reasons. You have your biggest love in your little man. Though he may have come from a past surrounded by hurtful memories, he’ll know more about love because of your experience.

    There’s nothing wrong with guarding your heart. I’m sure when your next love comes, he’ll be just right for you the way you are: perfect.

    Like

  2. LiveUrLife (@Teinetoa4lyphe)
    January 28, 2012

    Sis — this is one of my all time fave songs. Like you said it is the most craziest thing to be in love and then out of love… and Love has many ways of touching our hearts as Pebbles sings.
    I am at a crossroads with my current love. so let me attempt to answer your questions and hopefully work it out what it is to me right now.
    Where has love caught me off guard?
    Love caught me off guard this past Christmas when I met a man who told me he was ready to take me home. Not my physical home here on earth but back to my Heavenly Home with God. My religion believes in couples and families together forever – death does not part us. So my heart which I have guarded closely now twitched a little in recognition of some1 who wants the same things I want and has the same values/standards. I truly believe and feel that he is the one I want to spend my life and eternity with.
    What lessons have you learned from losing or gaining love?
    One lesson I’ve learned from losing love along the way is that I cannot control everything. LOL! I am a control freak and what frustrates me sometimes about Love is that Love is….and Love makes things happen that i didn’t anticipate and I find myself spinning out of control in emotions that sometimes frighten me and makes me question my logic. Don’t know if that makes sense but I have doubted many times over these past 2 months of my relationship with my special guy if he or I were doing the right thing. I thought I learned the quality of patience well over the years but apparently I haven’t.I am learning I need to be more patient with myself and with him. Especially as there is a an age difference – I am older and so I tend to want to be in the driver’s seat and he is happy to take the passenger seat. However, past relationships have taught me that I can’t be the only one driving or the only one giving in my relationships or I will start to resent my partner and I will not be happy in the long run. Ryan reminded me that riding shotgun all the time is not fun for a guy either. πŸ™‚ So lessons learned this past weekend – let go of the controls and give it to him too. hahaha!
    luv your blog as usual sis and one I needed to take a step back and realize I was actually killing this one ahead of time by not allowing him to feel like we were equals. He has said he will take care of me and loves me fully so why can’t I just let that be enough? why do I question his every motive? why do I feel the need to be needy and whiny too? lol! ah Love is….you never know right?
    luv ya sis
    Cyn.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Follow Lyfes Lyrics on WordPress.com

Instagram

I've passed by this sign several times but haven't ever stopped to take a picture of it. She's finally with @gamecockthrows. I'm excited to hear about her first few weeks of school and her first few college workouts. I'm missing her heaps but I know how important a college education and continuing her athletic career is. Congratulations sweetheart! #8xStateChampion #discus #shotput #GoGamecocks #USC #GamecocksNation #atn #aretethrowsnation #blessing #KDYoung With or without an implement, there's always drillwork to be done! #HeTriedIt #NotThisCoach #shotput #drills #footwork #shadowwork #work #hardwork #aretethrowsnation #atn Still grinding. #shotput #hammer #discus #thrower #thowernation #fieldnation #tracknation #trackandfield #atn #aretethrowsnation We grind.... even when the sprinklers come on! πŸ™ŒπŸΎ #hardknocklife #buildscharacter #throwerproblems #thrower #discus #throwernation #rain #sleet #snow #shine #sprinkler @clark_the_shark10 A beautiful day for a technical session. #shotput #hammer #discus #drills #thrower #thrownation #atn #aretethrowsnation Thanks for a wonderful Fresh Expo! @schnuckmarkets #food #foodie #BestInFresh #produce #deli #floral #foodbar #customerservice #division8 #health #healthy #eat #ILoveFood #love #work #Schnucks #FBM707 **singing** 🎡🎢Don't go chasing waterfalls.... stick to the rivers and the lakes that you're used to.... (even if it's just outside @menardshomeimprovement) #entertainment #easilyamused #thingsido #adamnneedstobebuilt #water #nature I don't often post much of my siblings because I'm protective of them... social media isn't always the safest place to share familial ties... but I will say that I truly love watching my sister's #health , #fitness , #family , #church and overall #life #journey posts. Miss and love you! Super proud to see that we're all living a #healthier #lifestyle. Hugs and kisses to the boys and pup! 😘 #love #grind #Blessing #SorryIfRandomPeopleStartCreepingYourPageOrRequestYou lol #Kermit is spazzing out before he officially says his farewell to @sydneyyy.lakeee 😞 Love you babygirl! See you in a few months! 😘😘😘 @pttheshaq will see to it that Kermit is okay. #FloridaBound #New #Home #Growth #ItsNotGoodByeItsSeeYouLater Thank you Mike! @5starnutritionchampaign #nutrition #health #information #body #composition #analysis For the first time @iaaf_athletics has decided to medal #coaches along with their #athletes. πŸ’“ #sports #recognition #hardwork #honor #love #passion #career #thankyou Puttin In Work. Way to go Owen! #discus #shotput #javelin #hammer #thrower #trackandfield

Twitter

