Lyfes Lyrics

My Lyfestyle Through Lyrics

Vision Board


20120101-223702.jpg

Quite a few people have asked me about an explanation to my vision board. I posted a few pictures of it on Instagram. It’s only partially done because this is my BUSINESS vision board. Later this month, I plan on doing a personal vision board that will include my family, friends, health and beauty.

20120101-223808.jpg

What exactly is visualization? Well, it’s basically imagining things as a means to exercise your mind into believing that what you imagine will come to fruition. A vision board helps with VISUALIZATION.

20120101-223940.jpg

I’ve been using visualization as a tool since I’ve been an athlete. It became a routine for me before and after games/matches/meets. Sometimes, depending on the sport, I’d use visualization in the middle of a competition. It wasn’t until I got to college that I met other athletes who used the same kind of “ritual” for their own sport. It was then that I realized that I wasn’t so different from other athletes as I had thought. Yes, I was unique in my own right on many levels, but was the same in terms of techniques, routines and fundamentalism in regards to visualization as a tool to reach and achieve goals. Think about it. The greatest athletes visualize themselves in practice going through game scenarios. They create plays and scenarios in their minds and think of many options to overcome obstacles that could potentially occur. For basketball, every player has visualized the “buzzer beater” shot or the “clutch” shot. Every player has visualized how they make free throws. Every football player has imagined the “hail mary” play to go in their favor. Every gymnast has imagined choreographing the perfect routine with an dismount that will score a 10.0. Every diver has envisioned a splashless dive.

20120101-224146.jpg

In my adulthood, I watched The Secret and learned that what I had already been doing for years, was how the greatest minds, inventors and philosophers used visualization to achieve what we now all see as history.

20120101-224245.jpg

Now that I’ve hung up my athletic gear, I’m learning to use visualization in every aspect of my life. Over the years I’ve also learned that the energy one puts out is the energy you get in return. So now, I try to be careful with what I say, how I say it and to whom I’m saying it because I want to make sure that same energy comes back to me as I released it.

20120101-224525.jpg

When I first watched The Secret, I created my first vision board. The pictures in this blog are my second vision board (I completed/achieved 80% of what was on my first. I felt like it was due time for a new one because I have met some amazing people since my first board. The pictures and quotes in my vision boards represent where, what and who will come into my life. My current vision board hangs above my desk in my home office. I see it every day and always take a few minutes to envision these things in my life as well as FEEL what it will feel like to have these things. It may take weeks, months or years to attain some things but PATIENCE is definitely important when it come to my dreams. I know He will reward me when I am ready. For now, it’s about staying on my grind and welcoming not just the blessings that come from life, but also the “lessons”.

20120101-224732.jpg

I recommend that everyone make a vision board. Be it for business, career, family, health or even for room decor, seeing the things you dream to have is one way for one to think positive. Channeling your energy into a more positive outlet is always better than channeling it into a negative light. Try it. It won’t hurt.

What will you put on your vision board?

Until next post,

XoXoX

Lia

5 comments on “Vision Board

  1. Ni801
    January 2, 2012

    I love it!!! Once again you’ve inspired me! A vision board is a great idea an seeing my dreams an goals each day will help keep me motivated! My Dreams an goals are so simple an so achievable an yet here I am at 29 without any accomplishments!! This is the Year where I will make payments to my school loan so I can go back to school! I will buy me my first camera to take photos which I know I have an eye for!!! Write more in my journal an pick up writing poetry again!! Simple right?? I think so an yet I’ve yet to start!! My vision board is in affect TODAY!! Lia ur an amazing example to Poly women an women period!!! Malo for sharing an inspiring!!! Ofa’s!!!

    Like

    • LyfesLyfe
      January 2, 2012

      Let’s go! I do what I can to help
      encourage my fellow Polynesians as well as others. 2012 should be a great year. Keep me updated, ok?

      Love,
      Lia

      Like

  2. Teinetoa4lyphe
    January 3, 2012

    have you read the Power ? I haven’t read the Secret but the Power is another book that is awesome to read and helped me to grow/metamorphosis into the person I am now. I so agree with other comment about You – Lia being inspiring for all women!!! keep at it. You are my hero or superhero like I’ve told you. hugs! 2012 its our time to shine! here we go! watch out now!

    Like

  3. P. Starks
    February 25, 2012

    I’ve heard of this Secret concept before, but never actually seen it applied. It’s an interesting concept. Will you ever post a picture of your previous board?

    Great post!

    Like

    • LyfesLyfe
      February 27, 2012

      Unfortunately my previous board was ruined in a move. 😦

      Like

Leave a Reply

Follow Lyfes Lyrics on WordPress.com

Instagram

Still grinding. #shotput #hammer #discus #thrower #thowernation #fieldnation #tracknation #trackandfield #atn #aretethrowsnation We grind.... even when the sprinklers come on! πŸ™ŒπŸΎ #hardknocklife #buildscharacter #throwerproblems #thrower #discus #throwernation #rain #sleet #snow #shine #sprinkler @clark_the_shark10 A beautiful day for a technical session. #shotput #hammer #discus #drills #thrower #thrownation #atn #aretethrowsnation Thanks for a wonderful Fresh Expo! @schnuckmarkets #food #foodie #BestInFresh #produce #deli #floral #foodbar #customerservice #division8 #health #healthy #eat #ILoveFood #love #work #Schnucks #FBM707 **singing** 🎡🎢Don't go chasing waterfalls.... stick to the rivers and the lakes that you're used to.... (even if it's just outside @menardshomeimprovement) #entertainment #easilyamused #thingsido #adamnneedstobebuilt #water #nature I don't often post much of my siblings because I'm protective of them... social media isn't always the safest place to share familial ties... but I will say that I truly love watching my sister's #health , #fitness , #family , #church and overall #life #journey posts. Miss and love you! Super proud to see that we're all living a #healthier #lifestyle. Hugs and kisses to the boys and pup! 😘 #love #grind #Blessing #SorryIfRandomPeopleStartCreepingYourPageOrRequestYou lol #Kermit is spazzing out before he officially says his farewell to @sydneyyy.lakeee 😞 Love you babygirl! See you in a few months! 😘😘😘 @pttheshaq will see to it that Kermit is okay. #FloridaBound #New #Home #Growth #ItsNotGoodByeItsSeeYouLater Thank you Mike! @5starnutritionchampaign #nutrition #health #information #body #composition #analysis For the first time @iaaf_athletics has decided to medal #coaches along with their #athletes. πŸ’“ #sports #recognition #hardwork #honor #love #passion #career #thankyou Puttin In Work. Way to go Owen! #discus #shotput #javelin #hammer #thrower #trackandfield Balance. @pttheshaq #play #work #playground The best thing about being in this town is that I don't have to have my #equipment shipped! #GillAthletics #save #thrower #coach #trainer #turbojav #hammer #handle #wire #swivelkit

Twitter

