Lyfes Lyrics

My Lyfestyle Through Lyrics

It’s A Small World After All


20111224-211829.jpg

Why do people always forget how small this world really is until its too late? You want to know how small my world is? Ok. Let me let you know then.

As a Polynesian (my fellow polynesians can relate to this, so they shouldn’t be surprised with what I am about to share), big families are a bit of a norm. Both my parents come from big families. In fact, each of them was born out of 10+ kids. All four of my grandparents were born out of 10+ kids. Do the math. That’s 60+ aunts and uncles. Each of them have married, so the number of aunts and uncles have doubled to 120+. In first cousins alone, I have 120+ as well. I have just about the same amount of second cousins as I do first cousins. So on and so forth through to my 3rd, 4th, 5th, 6th and 7th cousins.

THIS is my world and it is EXTREMELY small. I just mentioned my family. I haven’t even mentioned my friends. You want an idea of who I know other than my family? I was looking through my contacts last week as I was sending out holiday cards. I’m standing in the local post office writing down addresses and one of the postal workers was “observing” me from afar. A half hour into writing addresses (I need to get my printer back up and running. I could’ve saved time by using labels), the postal worker asked jokingly, “Do you know someone in every state? That’s a lot of cards to send out.” So I went back through the cards to look at who I knew and their location. I didn’t realize, until in that moment, that I knew someone in EVERY state. Family, friends, former colleagues, former teammates, former coaches, former classmates, high school opponents, college opponents, acquaintances, etc. No wonder I get random calls from high schools and colleges trying to hunt down alumns. I seem to be the only person who keeps in contact well with people who now stay away from the limelight.

Now, most of my family are in California, Nevada, Washington State, Arizona and Utah. Yeah, my family loves it on the west coast. And now that I’ve been on twitter for over 6 months, I’ve gotten to know a few of my followers. Aside from my hunny, I don’t know any of my 1700+ followers personally and have never met any of them. Although I am related to a few of them and they don’t even realize it. But it’s funny how even my family members know quite a few of my followers, but don’t realize @lyfeslyrics is me: their cousin/aunt/niece.

I don’t trust many people, but I have tried to trust people and have been burned more than once. I don’t like that feeling. And I’m sure all of you would agree. However, there are a handful of followers that I’ve gotten to know and have shown me to be of trustworthy character.

I say all this because for me, word is bond. When someone tells me or shows me something personal, I automatically assume (I don’t expect the person to tell me not to tell anyone. I KNOW not to tell) it’s personal and I put it in my vault I call “going to my grave with this” vault. I’ve met only a few people who CAN hold hot water. Sometimes, I go out on a limb and trust that a person will just do right because I feel like the person is trustworthy enough to respect me. Unfortunately, people let alcohol and weed get the best of them. I’ve never let substances effect my better judgement. I’ve never drank to the point of blacking out, nor will I ever drink or get high to the point where my family and friends secrets come out. You know what they say, “Loose lips, sink ships”, and as small as my world is, greater ships have been sunken because of that specific reason.

Because I’m far from my family they think I’m out of the loop with things going on back at home. Leave it to my twitter timeline to inform me of not just sports, politics and current events, but even some of my family’s drama. I never discuss with whoever tweeted the “411”, I end up calling my brother and sisters to see what’s up. And even they are surprised with how I know things (sometimes before them lol).

Yes, my world is small. The billions of people on this earth and somehow word on the street gets back to me. I don’t know why that is, but I always take it as a lesson in life.

Moral of this story: hurt me once, shame on me; hurt me twice, shame on you; hurt me thrice, well… I was being too naive.

Have you ever been trusted with confidential information and let it slip? Are you trustworthy enough with secrets or are you adult enough to admit that you aren’t?

Until next post,

XoXoXoX

Lia

4 comments on “It’s A Small World After All

  1. sxybklvr
    December 25, 2011

    I’m pretty guarded as well, even with family. I wish I had the big family, it sounds like a positive thing.

    Like

    • LyfesLyfe
      December 25, 2011

      It is for the most part, but word spreads like wildfire. Lots of pros and cons, but family is family. I love them regardless. 🙂 Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Lia

      Like

  2. Teinetoa4lyphe
    December 28, 2011

    I love you sis! and yes Family is Family! Love this from your blog — “Yes, my world is small. The billions of people on this earth and somehow word on the street gets back to me. I don’t know why that is, but I always take it as a lesson in life. Moral of this story: hurt me once, shame on me; hurt me twice, shame on you; hurt me thrice, well… I was being too naive.
    Have you ever been trusted with confidential information and let it slip? Are you trustworthy enough with secrets or are you adult enough to admit that you aren’t?”

    I’ve never met you and yet you are my sister I feel it and I know it. HOw thankful and grateful I am for total strangers this past year who have become like family for me when my own has deserted me in some areas. 😦 But I know the evil one is working hard to ensure that we are not happy and he will not win. We will!

    Just have to believe and have faith. I have been trusted with confidential info and I did let it slip one time and i learned a valuable lesson. I am trustworthy. You can count on me and I know I can count on you as I have in the past few months to keep me afloat on this journey we call life.

    thank you toko!

    alofas,
    Cyn.

    Like

    • LyfesLyfe
      December 29, 2011

      Sis,

      Thank you! I love you long time.

      Love,
      Lia

      Like

Leave a Reply

Follow Lyfes Lyrics on WordPress.com

Instagram

Yummy in my tummy! #bagel #creamcheese #strawberry #food #foodie #instagood #instafood #goodmorning #gm #goodmorningpost #deliciosos #nomnomnom No electronic devices in the throw area. 😑 #seriously #theyon10 #takesomecalmdown #iswearilovethissport #rebel #throws #thrownation #fieldnation #trackandfield When KD heard the news that for the 2nd consecutive year, she's the 2016-2017 Illinois Track & Field Player of the Year. (📸: mom💋) #woohoo #thrower #thrownation #fieldnation #tracknation #celebrate #iloveyou #excited #ihsa #hammer #discus #shotput #drillsdrillsdrills Good morning instapeople! #gm #goodmorning #bnw #bnw_society #bnwphotography #bnwcaptures #bnwmood #bnw_life #throwbackthursday #selfie #moi aaaaaand hello there wide-ass foot placement 😒 #hammer #throw #4turn #lookmanoglove #idontwearaglove #tired #hellafakapikomooni #musclememory #itstoohottobeout #misquitoesareeatingmealive #ohwell #stillanicedaytothrow ⚡️🤙🏾. #javelin #thrower #stillgotit #alittlerustythough #butmyhighbuniscute 😏 #throwernation #thrownation #fieldnation #tracknation #trackandfield #hammerisnext 🙌🏾 GM ♥️. #beautiful #heart #goodmorning #qotd #quote #instaquote 7th grade #IESA #discus and #shotput #champion needed some hydration! Maaaaaan Anjay is a #beast! I can't wait for everyone to see his improvement. Dropping bombs for #state next year is going to be FUN, FUN, FUN! #shotput #discus #throw #thrower #thrownation #fieldnation #tracknation #trackandfield #trackislife #throwforlife One day this little time will be a #thrower. #future #discus #shotput #javelin #hammer #thrownation #fieldnation #tracknation #trackandfield I remember the first time I saw @chagobasso throw. I was sitting next to Scott and all I could say was "f*cking beautiful" lol #shotput #thrower #speed #acceleration #thrownation #fieldnation #tracknation #trackandfield Je t'adore! Tu parle français? hahaha! Have fun in France sis! Miss and love you! @nanafaavesi92 #teamusa #rugby #womensrugby #usa #goals #sports The wind up. The entry. The release. #discus #possiblebooktitle #soundslikeabedtimestory #thatdbeanadorablestorybookforkids #thrower #throwers #throwernation #fieldnation #samoa #samoan #polynesian

Twitter

