Lyfes Lyrics

My Lyfestyle Through Lyrics

801 On The Map (pt. 2)


My regular readers and twitter followers know (as mentioned in previous posts) when I am writing about a song I have the song on repeat the duration of my writing process for that particular post. It’s no different with part one and part two of this post. I listened to B-Side’s album on shuffle-repeat while writing part one and for part two, I’ve got Playboi Short’s album on shuffle-repeat at this very moment.

On B-Side’s album B Myself and I, there are hints of influences of different regional rap artists: East, South and even Midwest, but mainly West Coast. With Playboi Short’s album, titled Follow My Lead, West Coast rap is the obvious influence of all the songs on the album. As a California baby myself, listening to Playboi’s album made me more homesick than I already am (thanks a lot Playboi).

20111106-125911.jpg

With his album set to drop mid-November (approximately the 19th), Playboi Short is already working on his next project while he simultaneously works on the release, promotions and performances for this current album (talk about WORK ETHIC).

There’s a distinct sound for different West Coast rap. Anyone that knows rap would agree. Southern California (So-Cal), The Bay and Northern California (Nor-Cal) are mainly how West Coast rap is categorized, with specific artists in mind when describing songs. Snoop Dogg, Dr. Dre and Ice Cube representing So-Cal. E-40, Too Short, The Game and Tupac representing the sounds of the Bay and Nor-Cal. It all depends, but in Playboi Short’s album Follow My Lead, at least when I listened thoroughly through the album quite a few times, I could hear a little bit of an influence from a young Dr. Dre and Snoop Dogg. The cool, laid back, cruising down the street kind of vibe is what captured my attention initially. It made me reminisce about my childhood days in Crenshaw, Inglewood and Hawthorne. I miss those days! (You’d think I’d be sick of the album by now, as many times as I’ve listened to it, but because of the profound influence of the West Coast rap, it makes me think of home. It makes me miss home).

Like B-Side, featured on Playboi’s album are great collaborations as well. I was pleasantly surprised to hear familiar voices like B-Side and SyncroNice on Playboi’s track Gutta Shit. (SyncroNice also collabed on B-Side’s album on the song Cleaning Out The Lake. I hope he comes out with an album immediately after Playboi’s is released. It’ll be more reason for the industry to look to the 801 for talent). This song… goes… HARD! It’s one of 5 songs that I keep on repeat when I listen to this album in the car. The smooth sound, However, at the end of this song a comedian by the name of Jay Whitaker is featured… and… I haven’t laughed so hard in a while after listening to Jay’s skits throughout Playboi’s album (my friends and I actually quote his skits because we’re that goofy).

As I mentioned earlier, there are five specific songs that I’ve found on Follow My Lead to be my favorites (meaning; I can listen to each of the songs on repeat and never get tired of them). Gutta Shit, No Strings, I Be On It, No Gravity and Inferno are those five songs. Why? Aside from the obvious sick beats laid under the lyrics, the marriage of those beats and the lyrics are why.

Gutta Shit brings it with the lyrical content and the delivery of bars. A “mean” verse by each of them, but my friends love rewinding it to B-Side’s verse because of how he ends his verse (“BRRRRRROOWWW”).

No Strings has that hook that you’ll have stuck in your head for days (it’s been stuck in mine for the past week). Damarr Jones is the featured artist in this lovely track. Yes, I referred to this song as “lovely”. Listen to the chorus and you’ll see why. If someone was singing like that to me, I’d definitely “follow his lead” (lol).

No Gravity is one of those tracks I found myself listening to over and over again because Playboi’s witty lyrics kept making me laugh, which caused me to miss the lyrics immediately following what I found funny. You’d laugh too hearing him reference Dave Chappelle, Borat and waffles and chicken on this song.

Of the 5 songs I found to be my favorites, I Be On It is my favorite! This is the track that I found to have a little bit of an influence from Snoop Dogg. A sexy, nice, cool, kick back beat to cruise to down Highway 1. Another song I find my friends quoting and trying to mimic the way Playboi says “I be on it” (my friends are just as animated as I am). Yes, this song really makes me miss home!

The crowd pleaser of the album is also one of my five favorites; Inferno. With a bit of an influence from the south in terms of the sound, this track is bound to make you want to get up and dance (I can’t and won’t tell you what it’s made my friends and I do in dance class. That’s a whole other post in it of itself lol). It’s a “banga”! I would imagine that this is the track that the crowd loves when Playboi performs it (I later asked him and he confirmed that this song is the crowd favorite at his gigs).

20111106-213543.jpg

I can’t think, for the life of me, of a mainstream artist that “reps” The Lake. Maybe Playboi and B-Side would know. If there isn’t, Playboi and B-side would definitely bust the gates open for The Lake. The issue is: weeding out the “wack” artists to get to the really talented ones like those of Playboi, B-Side and the other artists that collaborated on both their albums. They both proudly mention their pacific islander ethnicities and collaborated with other Polynesian artists. It would take a collective effort on all their camps to make a push to put The 801 on the map.

I’ve shared with both of them and a few other poly musicians of what I envision our polynesian musicians could and will be if they came together as a collective movement. It’ll take a few other groups from other regions of the west to join The 801 movement. But if I know my polynesian brothers in this music industry like I know them, it’s going to happen within the next two years. And as long as I’m alive, I’ll make sure this vision of mine comes to fruition! We’ve been supportive of each other in pockets of areas. We need to not just talk the talk, but also walk the walk when it comes to the term “Team Poly”. Hop on board people. Don’t say you didn’t hear it coming. We’ll be in full throttle before you know it. “Leggo”!

Until next time,

xoxox

Lia

3 comments on “801 On The Map (pt. 2)

  1. Teinetoa4lyphe
    November 7, 2011

    wow! that’s all I can say! I lived all these years in UTah and now these guys choose to explode after I leave? No fair! Big ups to all of you artists, musicians doing your thang! Striving, believing, and working at it! ITS OUR TIME TO SHINE. YOU GET THAT FEELING? I DO! ITS A POLYNESIAN CONNECTION REVOLUTION!

    LET’S DO MORE THAN BEING KNOWN FOR FOOTBALL, RUGBY, OR FOR GANGS LIKE SOS.

    LET’S BE KNOWN FOR MAKING GREAT MUSIC. THIS IS OUR INDUSTRY!
    WE WERE BORN WITH THE MUSIC WITHIN US AS POLYNESIANS! YOU KNOW IT! I KNOW IT!
    I have yet to meet a Polynesian who didn’t have rhythm. ITS NATURAL!

    Go to any family event, function where there is a celebration and you see the RHYTHM OF THE ISLANDS. I think African Americans have a similar rhythm that it comes naturally to them as well. Thats a general statetment to make but I’m making it.

    Which is why we probably tend to follow music that feels good to us as Polys. How many Polynesians do you know that love Reggae??? why do we love that sound? Or rap? why do we love that sound?

    MUSIC IS IN OUR BLOOD, OUR ROOTS, ITS WHO WE ARE!

    ITS OUR TIME! LET’S GO! WE GOT THIS! ONE LUV! MY BROTHERS AND SISTERS!
    DO YOUR THING ! I SEE YOU ! I GOT YOU!

    Like

  2. Travis Vallejo
    November 11, 2011

    Great piece on one of Utah’s hardest working MC’s

    Like

    • LyfesLyfe
      November 12, 2011

      Thank you for stopping through to read. More specifically, thank you for commenting. Stop through again as I try to gather up more information on artists that were featured in Playboi and B-Side’s albums. Id like to see who else is dropping an album.

      Thanks again,
      Lia

      Like

Leave a Reply

Follow Lyfes Lyrics on WordPress.com

Instagram

Good morning instapeople! #gm #goodmorning #bnw #bnw_society #bnwphotography #bnwcaptures #bnwmood #bnw_life #throwbackthursday #selfie #moi aaaaaand hello there wide-ass foot placement 😒 #hammer #throw #4turn #lookmanoglove #idontwearaglove #tired #hellafakapikomooni #musclememory #itstoohottobeout #misquitoesareeatingmealive #ohwell #stillanicedaytothrow ⚡️🤙🏾. #javelin #thrower #stillgotit #alittlerustythough #butmyhighbuniscute 😏 #throwernation #thrownation #fieldnation #tracknation #trackandfield #hammerisnext 🙌🏾 GM ♥️. #beautiful #heart #goodmorning #qotd #quote #instaquote 7th grade #IESA #discus and #shotput #champion needed some hydration! Maaaaaan Anjay is a #beast! I can't wait for everyone to see his improvement. Dropping bombs for #state next year is going to be FUN, FUN, FUN! #shotput #discus #throw #thrower #thrownation #fieldnation #tracknation #trackandfield #trackislife #throwforlife One day this little time will be a #thrower. #future #discus #shotput #javelin #hammer #thrownation #fieldnation #tracknation #trackandfield I remember the first time I saw @chagobasso throw. I was sitting next to Scott and all I could say was "f*cking beautiful" lol #shotput #thrower #speed #acceleration #thrownation #fieldnation #tracknation #trackandfield Je t'adore! Tu parle français? hahaha! Have fun in France sis! Miss and love you! @nanafaavesi92 #teamusa #rugby #womensrugby #usa #goals #sports The wind up. The entry. The release. #discus #possiblebooktitle #soundslikeabedtimestory #thatdbeanadorablestorybookforkids #thrower #throwers #throwernation #fieldnation #samoa #samoan #polynesian ...wait for it. ⚡️ #discus #storm #throw #sessionafterthemeet #excusethenonexistentsweep #rhythm #thrownation #fieldnation #tracknation #trackandfield #love #passion #coach Beautiful #throws from an awesome group of #throwers! @chagobasso @23hendershot31 @ithr0wthings #discus #fieldnation #thrownation #tracknation #trackandfield #ThrowersInvite #AOThrowers #summertrack Happy Birthday to the dopest #choreographer #dancer! Your father would be beyond proud of you! Ofa lahi atu! #favorite #dancer #choreographer #HBD #tonga #polynesian #polypride #blessings #snazzy

Twitter

