Lyfes Lyrics

My Lyfestyle Through Lyrics

Losing Yourself In The Music


A couple months ago, on twitter, two of my favorite bloggers (@laniwendtyoung and @lefolauga) were discussing how there’s a need and want to showcase Polynesian writers and bloggers. So, last week I started a paper.li account to figure out how I can make that happen; a one stop shop for us Polynesians to check on what our fellow polys are writing about or even doing around the world. I’m still trying to get the hang of how paper.li works, but at least I’ve got the ball rolling.

In the meantime, while I’m still trying to figure out the ins and outs of paper.li, I also wanted to begin doing a weekly or bi-weekly feature of Polynesian authors, writers, bloggers, musicians, poets in my personal blog.

First up… Lani Wendt Young…

Seti, @lefolauga, introduced me to her blog and I instantly became a fan (read her blog and you’ll find yourself giggling or really laughing out loud in front of your computer or at your phone: http://sleeplessinsamoa.blogspot.com/)

Because my blog is mostly music related and Lani just launched her book
Telesā: The Covenant Keeper, I was interested in knowing what music inspired her the duration of the writing process. You know how us writers are, we sometimes use music to kill the real life background noise to get us in the zone. Lani was kind enough to share with us the music that killed her real life background noise…

[BOOK GIVEAWAY ALERT!!! COMMENT ON THIS POST WITHIN THE FIRST WEEK OF THIS POST AND YOU COULD WIN A FREE COPY OF TELESA]

~~ Lani Loses Herself ~~

“You better lose yourself in the music
The moment, you own it, you better never let it go
You only get one shot, do not miss your chance to blow
This opportunity comes once in a lifetime”

~ Eminem ~

Losing Yourself in the Music.

Writing is my gift but I’ve always thought that if ever God gave me the chance to trade in my gift for another, then I would be sorely tempted to exchange words for music. To me, nothing else has the immediate power to move you, envelop you and transform you the way that music does. It really is a universal language and in today’s conflicted world, we need all the unifying that we can get.

The first boy I ever loved introduced me to the art of using song to convey emotion and meaning. I was 14 and (of course) not allowed to have a boyfriend and so the only time I ever got to see him – was at church. ( Can you tell I’m Samoan!) He would make these cassette mix tapes for me with different songs on them and give them to me on Sundays. I would listen to those tapes all during the week (blissfully) and that was how he told me every day, that he loved me. Through music. Even now, 20 years later I can hear one of those songs on the radio and instantly be reminded of the thrill, the color and wonder of first love.

TELESA: The Covenant Keeper is primarily a love story and so I relied a lot on music to inspire me because as we know – music is the language of love. Not only that, but without music, I literally would not have been able to write this book. I have 5 children and so finding a peaceful space to write can be a little tricky! My iPod was a lifesaver. The house could look like a telesa storm had swirled through it and the children could be squabbling, but once I put those earphones on and pressed PLAY? I was transported to a different world, one where a boy called Daniel writes his own music, plays the guitar and sings about love and heartbreak while a girl called Leila gracefully dances the Samoan siva.

20110913-065254.jpg

Daniel

My fave TELESA writing music? Eminem. Which is a little odd I know, because Eminem is not known for being a romantic love song kinda rapper! But I love the poetry of his lyrics, so raw and powerful. And at times confrontational. Everyone has times when they doubt themselves and their dreams. Songs like ‘Im not Afraid’ and ‘Lose Yourself’ remind me that it takes courage and strength to fuel our dreams. Especially when others try to drag us down with their negativity and doubt. Listening to Eminem’s battle songs inspire me to fight harder, aim higher, and to write with fierceness. And his song with Rihanna ‘ I love the way you lie’ was my TELESA anthem for just one verse alone.

“Baby, please come back, it wasn’t you, Baby, it was me.
Maybe our relationship isn’t as crazy as it seems
Maybe that’s what happens when a tornado meets a
volcano
All I know is I love you too much to walk away now
Just gonna stand there and watch me burn
Well that’s alright because I like the way it hurts
Just gonna stand there and hear me cry
Well that’s alright because I love the way you lie
I love the way you lie
I love the way you lie”

~ Eminem f/ Rihanna ~

Music is the language of love – How has music been a feature in YOUR love life?

_______________________________

Telesā: The Covenant Keeper by Lani Wendt Young is available for purchase and download in all electronic formats from Smashwords For those with a Kindle Application, it is also available from Amazon. Price: $5.99

Thank you Lani!

Readers… go BUY IT or COMMENT ON THIS POST TO BE AUTOMATICALLY ENTERED INTO THE BOOK GIVEAWAY! 🙂

XoXoXo

Lia aka @LyfesLyrics (like and add me on Facebook too)

28 comments on “Losing Yourself In The Music

  1. Eteroma Leulu
    September 15, 2011

    Oh wow! Id love to win me a copy of this book….I think the awesome thing about music is that it is a language that everyone in the world understands…and on an even simpler note, music is my driving force when Im at home and am too lazy to do feaus lol as long as music is playing, I could get through all the house work in a matter of minutes…and done properly too! hehehe Heres a poem I wrote about music and its wonders….

    Music of the Heart – A composition

    Music rewards me by offering a certain tune
    that beats in percussion with my heart.
    Pulsating barrage of beats
    enlists my choral inhibitions from the very start.

    Yet, her heart strums chords within mine
    which plays me into a
    smooth symphonic state.
    I’ve become lost in her sound but –
    yet armed with harmony,
    she picks my heart strings without
    range or debate.

    My body rocks motion
    and stutters with each jagged riff and
    rapidly rising crescendo.
    Cascading tunes with
    opulent rise and fall
    results in insinuating
    diminuendo.

    Soulful sounds stroke my inner
    musician, like fingers that
    slide over a piano’s instruments.
    Keys are all I feel,
    ebony and ivory they are;
    melodic unison sparks my
    chorus of pure enjoyments.

    She knows how my heart listens for the way hers beats by bass amplified
    and fusion personified and translated.
    Notes jammed off page, treble clef’d in soprano sung incantation of lyrics
    that seem related.

    Her mere touch an encore performed till the end…but yet my hearts music continues to play…more notes strung in succession, composing what the
    human soul will always boast to sing….the music of the heart will never cease to any form of ending.

    “Just as Jesus created wine from water, we humans are capable of transmuting
    emotion into music.”
    Carlos Santana

    Like

    • LyfesLyfe
      September 15, 2011

      oh wow! Beautiful poem! Well, you’re the only comment and if you’re the only comment in three days then you’re the winner lol

      Thanks again for a beautifully written poem!

      Like

      • Eteroma Leulu
        September 15, 2011

        oh yay…..fingers crossed! hehehe would go down well with the Manu beating Wales at the RWC! hehehe

        Like

    • Lani
      September 16, 2011

      In awe at your lyrical poetry Eteroma. Beautiful. I love that you describe music as your “driving force”. When Im (trying) to go for a run or do a gym workout – its my music that makes it happen and drives me to get through it.

      Like

  2. jo_an
    September 15, 2011

    My daughter and I dance around in the living room to music almost every other day. Even at her young age she is a real lover of music, just like her dad. I like to think shes abit of a mover and shaker like her mum. Music surrounds the ones I love so I guess that how music features in my own life. Just wanted to drop by and leave my thoughts. jo_an

    Like

    • LyfesLyfe
      September 15, 2011

      Thank you Joan for reading and commenting. I can’t go a day without music. It’s great that you and your daughter are able to dance and enjoy music together. Always encourage music of any genres. It helps with broadening horizons and understanding other viewpoints as well as cultures. Thanks again! Stay blessed. 🙂

      Like

    • Lani
      September 16, 2011

      I can relate to that Joan – me and the younger 3 love to blast the music and dance like crazy. Except the older two are so “cool” now that they’re embarassed when we do lol.

      Like

      • LyfesLyfe
        September 16, 2011

        LOL! Awww …kids I tell you!

        Like

  3. Cactus Flower
    September 15, 2011

    Wow, would love to read her new novel, put me down for a copy… I can so relate to author Lani Wendt Young’s experiences with expressing emotions through music, I’m a musician and when I was younger I was shy and used to my first love cassettes of music to show her how much I loved her, what a coincidence…I moved away and lost touch with her… but those memories, and emotions are still there when I here those tunes on the radio and think of her and smile…
    From Cactusflower
    Thanks

    Like

    • LyfesLyfe
      September 15, 2011

      Awww So romantic!!! Girls remember those things. Thank you for reading and commenting.

      Like

    • Lani
      September 16, 2011

      I love this comment – love hearing about other’s experiences with using music to express their ‘first love’. Sharing music with her would have been the best way to inspire her.
      Thanks Cactus Flower.

      Like

    • Cactus Flower (@CactusFlower4u)
      September 22, 2011

      dedicated to Miss Poto, you will always be my “Lady In Red”
      -cactusflower

      Like

  4. KIKKOMAN_soy
    September 19, 2011

    I LOVE!!!!!!! I want to enter the book giveaway! 🙂 I don’t blog as much as I used to… but I am definitely digging the Polynesian site. I skimmed through this reading while I’m at work, but please link me to that site you mentioned in the blog with paper.li 🙂 Thanks!

    Like

    • LyfesLyfe
      September 20, 2011

      Thank you for reading and commenting. You’re officially entered into the book giveaway. 🙂 Good luck!

      Like

  5. Veronica
    September 22, 2011

    music is my remedy.no matter how tough the day has treated me or how bad of a mood i am from people,all seems lost and forgotten about as soon as i listen to my music.music to me is like food to my soul.it draws me into a whole new world where nothing matters.its just me and my music.it also helps me deliver a message that is within me that i cannot say out loud.so instead of being shy and wont say anything about a certain matter,i often find myself putting my feelings/emotions into words and onto a piece of paper with the help of a pen/writing utensil and then try to turn it into music…

    Like

    • Veronica
      September 22, 2011

      p.s whats the deadline for the book giveaway??cause i would love to get a copy

      Like

      • LyfesLyfe
        September 22, 2011

        Deadline has passed. Thank you for reading and commenting.

        Like

  6. Sam Telesa
    November 28, 2011

    Wow!!! you guys actually wrote a about Telesa. I never watch or read the book, but it sounds pretty interesting. My name is Sam Telesa, my last name is Telesa. I got my last name from my grandfather, which is my dads father. My grandfather was born in Western Samoa, and he was a tipical Samoan old man. He has a traditional Samoan tattoo (soga’imiti), and all different matai title under his name. When I was a young boy, I used to feel his tattoo and asked him about the meaning of every single marks and designs. He use to tell me stories about Telesa and the sisters. When growing up is another story, people around me showed me respect, i didn’t know why. But, I guess its the name that I carry with me. Some people said their evil spirits, some people said their graudians, but the one by Lani W. Young suites me well.

    Like

    • Sam Telesa
      November 28, 2011

      where can i get it? please…so i can read it to my five little Telesa.

      Like

      • LyfesLyfe
        November 28, 2011

        It’s on Amazon. Enjoy!

        Lia

        Like

    • LyfesLyfe
      November 28, 2011

      Oh wow! I’ll be sure to tell Lani about your comment! Thank you for sharing, reading and commenting.

      Lia

      Like

  7. Ana ✔
    January 24, 2012

    Great post! Music is definitely the international language… keep up the great posts Lia 🙂

    Like

  8. Punaoa
    January 25, 2012

    Wow its so good to read about fellow polynesians using their talent in such powerful ways to capture our younger generations nowadays. Growing up in such a traditional and cultural upbringing its hard for many youngsters to be able to open up and use their talents in other ways other than just for church as i am a sinner of that myself and am afraid that i will pass it onto my children. Coming from a family of faifeaus down the line, its whats expected .. i dont mean to boast but i know as many other of our young devoted samoan christians have many talents go on hidden until they are lost because of fear of stepping out into the world to share fear of rejection, failure, fear of embarassment and criticism from the wider samoan community etc I guess my point i want to make is to that thank you so much to Lani for being able to step out and share her wonderful brilliant imagination with us all. When i found out about her book and that she was a samoan author at first i thought wow thats odd .. but then came that typical judgmental samoan thought ‘im just going to read it to see if its any good cos we never see samoans writing books unless their of religion or something related to it’ .. to my surprise i could not put it down i was bweitched to TELESA. I even had my dad yelling at me that i look more interested in reading Telesa than the bible .. haha .. i know soo bad but true. Anyway before i go on forever lol im really glad i came across your book Lani and will endeavour to spread my wings beyond church and share some of my own talents that i know people would appreciate .. even if i am a Mummy of 2 now lol.

    Thank you for this blog .. hope to see more people comment!!

    Like

    • Lani Wendt Young
      February 28, 2012

      Appreciate the comments Punaoa. I agree, even I have been guilty of that doubtful approach towards our Pacific/Samoan artists/authors/musicians etc. Blogging has helped introduce me to so many amazing talented Poly writers and more. I enjoy Lia’s blog and love the generous way that she supports other Pacific people in all their endeavours.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 13, 2011 by in Books, Experience, Guest Blog, Love, Men, Music, Relationships, Social, Women and tagged , , , , , , .
Follow Lyfes Lyrics on WordPress.com

Instagram

Watching Lukas at his flag football game! Great to see the MHS players and coaching staff out there! #community #football #sports #team #sages #monticello Giving it his all. @nate_harman (42-21 in the 4Q). #football #sages #monticello #fridaynight #fridaynightlights #friday #friyay #sports #instasports #atn #aretethrowsnation #multisportathlete #throwernation 💜💛🏈 If you know me, you know that I love #football. Watching @nate_harman killin' it on the field! 💪🏾💜 #GoSages #fridaynight #fridaynightlights #football #prepfootball #monticello #sages #everyoneswearingmyfavoritecolor #purple 😏 **BREAKING NEWS** Good weather for my baby boy's birthday party! 🙌🏾 #news #libra #libraseason #libragang #everythinglibra #librasdoitbest #birthday #hbd #party #11 Even if for a few minutes, I'll make sure I see family! I stopped in to see the girls during leisure time. 😘 My babygirl always stays in contact! I've missed them so much! 😘😘😘 #family #love #smile Getting some light work in with the #battleropes before I head to see the girls! I've missed them! 😘😘😘 #CrossFit #unyokedCrossFit #workout #exercise #fitness #instafit #blessed #healthandfitness #healthy #putinwork The hunger and willingness to learn and get faster, stronger and better is always a choice. #grindhard #thegrind #gbb #basketball #sports #quote #GoVikings Thousands of miles apart and somehow we still end up wearing the same outfit on the same day during our sessions 😘💙👑!!! Just ask @pttheshaq @clark_the_shark10 @track_and_golf_4ever lol!!! #atn #aretethrowsnation #blackandyellow #discus #throw #coach #ily #love #passion #killinitinkali #throwfar #tracknation #fieldnation #trackandfield #sport #sports In everything that I do or decide with which to associate myself, I carefully choose because my brand is a promise... I promise to give my all to help you with your journey and life goals.... I'll work tirelessly to ensure that my brand/promise exceeds my own expectations let alone others. I enjoy being around others who live and work by those words. Are you keeping your promise? #friday #fact #words #quotes #wordstoliveby #quotestoliveby #instaquotes #instadaily #life #love #passion #goals #lifestyle #charlierose #JLo #ARod @jlo @arod ...the center of it all... #Jesus #blessed #love #grateful #goodmorning #worship #praise @ihoughton 🙌🏾💓 I've passed by this sign several times but haven't ever stopped to take a picture of it. She's finally with @gamecockthrows. I'm excited to hear about her first few weeks of school and her first few college workouts. I'm missing her heaps but I know how important a college education and continuing her athletic career is. Congratulations sweetheart! #8xStateChampion #discus #shotput #GoGamecocks #USC #GamecocksNation #atn #aretethrowsnation #blessing #KDYoung With or without an implement, there's always drillwork to be done! #HeTriedIt #NotThisCoach #shotput #drills #footwork #shadowwork #work #hardwork #aretethrowsnation #atn

Twitter

