Lyfes Lyrics

My Lyfestyle Through Lyrics

Music Minute: The Best Thing You Never Had


20110724-021117.jpg

A few posts ago I wrote a poem to a
man in hopes that he would read it. I still don’t know if he read it. I don’t even know if he’s read my last few blogs about him. I don’t even know if he continues to read my blogs as I do his. *shrugs* So at this point, I’m learning to turn the page to start a new chapter. It’s all for the better.

Earlier today, J (the gentleman I’ve been having a whirlwind of an experience hanging out with as he keeps me company while I’m here in St. Louis these next few days) and I were in the car headed to do some shopping just to get out the flat when Beyonce’s song Best Thing I Never Had came on. As I was humming along, with my head in J’s lap as his fingers combed gently through my hair, all while I was blogging on my WordPress App on my iPhone, J was re-reading my poem I shared in a previous post titled When I Open My Heart To Love Again. He suddenly pulled me closer to him. He planted a kiss on my forehead, then my cheek and then my nose. I would’ve normally replied “a penny for your thought”, but I had an inkling already as to why he gently kissed me in each of those three places. When a guy plants a kiss on a woman’s forehead, he admires her. When he plants one on a woman’s cheek, he is grateful to have her in his life. When he plants a kiss on a woman’s nose, he just simply thinks she is adorably cute and thinks the world of her. But to have planted them all at once back to back, I was flattered. Before I could say anything, he began reciting a poem in response to my poem. I recorded him reciting it so I could not only remember to post it to share with all of you, but also so that I can replay it over and over and over again when it’s time for me to say farewell to him and part ways (that’ll be a tough day that I am not going to be happy about. Thinking about that day coming makes my stomach churn).

After J recited his poem, my cup was completely overfilled with an array of emotions: joy, fear, love, blessings, warmth, dizziness, passion, etc. It was just earlier in the week that I had all the opposite emotions about my Muse. How life can do a complete 180 degree turn in less than a week. I’m grateful. I’m overjoyed, yet I’m afraid of more hurt and more rejection. All I could think about doing was hugging and kissing J passionately for his poetic reply. So I did just that. I rewarded him with a shower of hugs and kisses (we’ve reached our 9999 kisses each. So, we started the game over lol) because I am extremely appreciative of his on the spot creativity and gesture of care and more than likely love. I’ve only known him for a little more than a day, but I feel like I’ve known him all my life, quite possibly from a previous life or something.

Quite fitting that Beyonce’s song Best Love I’ve Never Had was the song playing in the car. When one thinks the one person they once loved was THE ONE and when it didn’t work out they realize it’s for the best… Yes, Beyonce wasn’t playing when she wrote the song, particularly when she wrote:

“thank God you blew it. I thank God I dodged a bullet. I’m so over you baby. Good lookin out. I wanted you bad. I’m so through with that because obviously you’re the best thing I’ve never had”

*in my Madea voice* AMEN! HALLELUYERR

J’s reply to my poem is a poem I’ll replay daily on my iPhone. Between every prose he planted a kiss on me and I’ll remember the poem and the kisses forever (I have a horrible memory, but I won’t have a hard time remembering this moment).

Here’s his reply to my poem as I recorded it:

When You Open Your Heart To Love Again

By J

When You Open Your Heart To Love Again, you’ll forget how your last love did end.

When You Open Your Heart To Love Again, my protection and love to you I send.

When You Open Your Heart To Love Again, no more important than being lovers is that we first are friends.

When You Open Your Heart To Love Again, none other would I share this journey with than u as we begin.

When You Open Your Heart To Love Again, I guarantee to love you like I’ve never loved and then…

When You Open Your Heart To Love Again, my heart, my love, my ears to you I lend.

When You Open Your Heart To Love Again, your broken heart my love will mend.

When You Open Your Heart To Love Again, by any means necessary, your love I shall defend.

When You Open Your Heart To Love Again, my undying love I cannot hide, I shall not pretend.

When You Open Your Heart To Love Again, you’re my blessing, from up above you descend.

When You Open Your Heart To Love Again, my love to you this heart of mine I open.

(see my original poem below)

When I Open My Heart To Love Again

By Lyfes Lyrics

When I open my heart to love again, I pray it’s for forever and not as my last love did end.

When I open my heart to love again, my trust, my love, my all to whom I send?

When I open my heart to love again, I expect to be lovers but can we start as friends?

when I open my heart to love again, will u share as I’ve shared as our journey begins?

When I open my heart to love again, love me like you’ve never loved and then…

When I open my heart to love again, your heart, your love, your ears do you lend?

When I open my heart to love again, this tired, broken heart your love shall mend.

When I open my heart to love again, I hope it’s worth it all to defend.

When I open my heart to love again, the love reciprocated I will commend.

When I open my heart to love again, His blessings from above I pray decend.

2 comments on “Music Minute: The Best Thing You Never Had

  1. Teinetoa4lyphe
    November 21, 2011

    i just read this one! i thought i had read all of your blogs! another great piece! love the way you write!>> SPEAKS TO MY FATU / HEART.

    XOXO

    Like

    • LyfesLyfe
      November 22, 2011

      I’ve written almost 100 posts. haha Thank you always sis for continuing to read.

      Love,
      Lia

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 24, 2011 by in Dreams, Experience, Love, Poetry, Relationships, Sex, Social and tagged , , , , .
Follow Lyfes Lyrics on WordPress.com

Instagram

I've passed by this sign several times but haven't ever stopped to take a picture of it. She's finally with @gamecockthrows. I'm excited to hear about her first few weeks of school and her first few college workouts. I'm missing her heaps but I know how important a college education and continuing her athletic career is. Congratulations sweetheart! #8xStateChampion #discus #shotput #GoGamecocks #USC #GamecocksNation #atn #aretethrowsnation #blessing #KDYoung With or without an implement, there's always drillwork to be done! #HeTriedIt #NotThisCoach #shotput #drills #footwork #shadowwork #work #hardwork #aretethrowsnation #atn Still grinding. #shotput #hammer #discus #thrower #thowernation #fieldnation #tracknation #trackandfield #atn #aretethrowsnation We grind.... even when the sprinklers come on! πŸ™ŒπŸΎ #hardknocklife #buildscharacter #throwerproblems #thrower #discus #throwernation #rain #sleet #snow #shine #sprinkler @clark_the_shark10 A beautiful day for a technical session. #shotput #hammer #discus #drills #thrower #thrownation #atn #aretethrowsnation Thanks for a wonderful Fresh Expo! @schnuckmarkets #food #foodie #BestInFresh #produce #deli #floral #foodbar #customerservice #division8 #health #healthy #eat #ILoveFood #love #work #Schnucks #FBM707 **singing** 🎡🎢Don't go chasing waterfalls.... stick to the rivers and the lakes that you're used to.... (even if it's just outside @menardshomeimprovement) #entertainment #easilyamused #thingsido #adamnneedstobebuilt #water #nature I don't often post much of my siblings because I'm protective of them... social media isn't always the safest place to share familial ties... but I will say that I truly love watching my sister's #health , #fitness , #family , #church and overall #life #journey posts. Miss and love you! Super proud to see that we're all living a #healthier #lifestyle. Hugs and kisses to the boys and pup! 😘 #love #grind #Blessing #SorryIfRandomPeopleStartCreepingYourPageOrRequestYou lol #Kermit is spazzing out before he officially says his farewell to @sydneyyy.lakeee 😞 Love you babygirl! See you in a few months! 😘😘😘 @pttheshaq will see to it that Kermit is okay. #FloridaBound #New #Home #Growth #ItsNotGoodByeItsSeeYouLater Thank you Mike! @5starnutritionchampaign #nutrition #health #information #body #composition #analysis For the first time @iaaf_athletics has decided to medal #coaches along with their #athletes. πŸ’“ #sports #recognition #hardwork #honor #love #passion #career #thankyou Puttin In Work. Way to go Owen! #discus #shotput #javelin #hammer #thrower #trackandfield

Twitter

